Academy of Distinguished Teaching Scholars (ADTS) - 2008 Inductees

Academy of Distinguished Teaching Scholars:  2008 Inductees

The Provost announces the 2008 inductees into the University of Florida's Academy of Distinguished Teaching Scholars

These teacher-scholars were selected based on portfolio submissions that provided strong evidence of the integration of superior teaching and research and a record of distinguished scholarly accomplishment that has garnered recognition at the national and/or international level.

To assist them in advancing their vision for scholarly excellence and faculty enhancement at UF, these Academy teacher-scholar inductees will serve for three years on the Academy of Distinguished Teaching Scholars advisory board for the Provost’s Office. In this capacity they will assist the Associate Provost for Faculty Development in developing programs and promoting policies that enhance the professional careers and experiences of faculty. Academy members also promote a university-wide discourse on key issues surrounding the integration of teaching and research at the University.

After completing their three-year terms on the advisory board, members will retain the title of Distinguished Teaching Scholar and continue to be a part of the Academy.

William Logan

William Logan is the author of nine volumes of poetry: Sad-faced Men (1982), Difficulty (1985), Sullen Weedy Lakes (1988), Vain Empires (1998), Night Battle (1999), Macbeth in Venice (2003), The Whispering Gallery (2005), Strange Flesh (2008), and Deception Island: Selected Earlier Poems (2011). He has published five books of essays and reviews: All the Rage (1998), Reputations of the Tongue (1999), Desperate Measures (2002), The Undiscovered Country (2005), and Our Savage Art (2009). Among the books he has edited are an expanded edition of Randall Jarrell’s Poetry and the Age (2001); Donald Justice’s Collected Poems (2004), nominated for the National Book Award; and (with Dana Gioia) Certain Solitudes: On the Poetry of Donald Justice (1997).

Logan has twice been a finalist for the National Book Critics Circle award in criticism, which was awarded to The Undiscovered Country. Among his other honors are the Peter I. B. Lavan Younger Poets Award from the Academy of American Poets, the 1988 Citation for Excellence in Reviewing from the National Book Critics Circle, and the inaugural Randall Jarrell Award in