

Faculty Senate Special Meeting Minutes October 27, 2022 3:00 p.m.

J. Wayne Reitz Union, Chamber Room, Ground Floor

https://mediasite.video.ufl.edu/Mediasite/Play/b33eb3ce9ed746ab85c056534441c3121d

Call to order

Amanda Phalin, Chair

- The meeting was called to order at 3:03 p.m. by Faculty Senate Chair Amanda Phalin.
- Chair Phalin asked for patience with today's meeting facilitation as a special meeting reduces meeting preparation time, and time to receive full faculty input and vetting which would typically occur in committee before reaching the Senate floor. Appreciation was expressed for the Senators' time and the process was reviewed: pre-submitted amendments by Faculty Senators will be reviewed in alphabetical order by surname of the amendment-submitting Senator.
- Presidential Search Committee faculty member Lisa Lundy was unable to attend the last Senate meeting and was introduced to answer any outstanding faculty inquiries. (video time stamp: 3:33 to 46:48).

Action Item:

No Confidence Vote in the Selection Process of the 13th President of the University of Florida

Amanda Phalin, Chair

- + Pre-submitted Amendments by Faculty Senators
- (MED) Senator Breann Garbas introduced the resolution and clarified it is a no confidence vote in the process of the selection of the 13th President of the University of Florida.
- Following discussion, a motion to consider all pre-submitted amendments by Faculty Senators failed.
- Following discussion, a motion to adopt (FLMNH) Senator Cellinese's amendment carried.
- Following discussion, a motion to table (ENG) Senator Peters' amendment carried.
- Following discussion, a motion to adopt (CLAS) Senators' Witmer's and Vander Zanden amendment as submitted failed.
- Following discussion, a motion to adopt (CLAS) Senator Witmer's and Vander Zanden's amendment with the deletion of paragraph five 'whereas':
- WHEREAS the announcement of Senator Sasse as the sole candidate has caused unprecedented opposition and anger among faculty, students, staff, and alumni, a reaction that was arguably foreseeable by the search committee; failed.
- Following discussion, a motion to take from the table (ENG) Senator Peters' amendment of all three suggested points failed.
- A motion to consider and approve (ENG) Senator Peters' amendment on point one (to change: were unwilling to be named as finalists due to the 21-day public notification requirement;
- --> to: were willing to be considered for the position;) failed.
- A motion to consider and approve (ENG) Senator Peters' amendment on point two (deletion of: Whereas the selection process has the potential to cause significant professional harm to well-qualified candidates if their identities are disclosed at the 21-day mark, thus increasing the likelihood that a less suitable candidate who does not similarly fear disclosure will advance;) carried.

- Following discussion, a motion to modify the motion's language from:
- 'Whereas at the Faculty Senate meeting at the University of Florida on October 20, 2022, Senate members were informed that multiple well-qualified candidates who are leaders at higher education institutions were unwilling to be named as finalists due to the 21-day public notification requirement;'
- --> to: co-finalists carried unanimously.
- Following discussion, a motion to remove 'due to the 21-day public notification requirement;' carried.
- Following discussion, a motion to change:
- 'Whereas at the Faculty Senate meeting at the University of Florida on October 20, 2022, Senate members were informed that multiple well-qualified candidates who are leaders at higher education institutions were unwilling to be named as co-finalists;"
- --> to: 'Whereas at the Faculty Senate meeting at the University of Florida on October 20, 2022, Senate members were informed that multiple well-qualified candidates who are leaders at higher education institutions were unwilling to be publicly named as co-finalists;' carried.
- Following discussion, a motion to approve the resolution as amended carried 67–15.

Adjournment

- The meeting adjourned at 5:18 p.m.

Attending
Senators
Angela Bacsik
Katie Basinger
Norman Beatty
Lauren Berkow
Sally Bethart
Mario Binelli
Jeremiah Blanchard

David Bloom
Michael Bumbach
Megan Butala
Andrea Caloiaro
Rachel Carrico
Teresa Cavanaugh
Nico Cellinese
Jinghua Chen

Mayra Cordero
Maddy Coy
Cynda Crawford
Megan Daly
Santanu Datta
Michael K. Davis

Luisa (Amelia) Dempere Richard B. Dickinson William P. Dishong Randell Doty

Petra E. Duran-Gehring

Guy El Helou
James Essegbey
Sara M. Falzarano
Michael Feely
David A. Foster
Breann Garbas
Laurie Gauger
Frank Gibson
Vivian Gonsalves
Reetu Grewal
Dipankar Gupta
Barry Hartz
Robert L. Hatch

Patrick Inglett Sarah Rajkumari Jayasekaran

Samantha Kennedy Valeria Kleiman

Selman Hershfield

Amie Hoefnagel

Hélène Huet

Flora Iff-Noel

John Kraft Jaclyn Kropp McKenzie Landrum

Ji-Hyun Lee Zhigang Li Keya Locke Maureen Long Charlene Luke Kiran Lukose Sarah Lynne

Diba Mani

A. Corinne Manley Alexandra Mannix Katherine Marin Anne Mathews Mindy McAdams John A. Mendoza-Garcia

Carey Minteer

Charles Mitchell Marjorie Montanez-Wiscovich

Walter Lee Murfee Christine T. Myers John Neubert Cuong Nguyen

Juan Nino Monika Oli Jorg Peters Ana Puig Heidi Radun

Heidi Radunovich Czerne Reid

Margarete Ribeiro Dasilva Jemmie Robertson Christopher Robinson Esther Romeyn David Gaddis Ross Eleonora Rossi Ajay Sharma Hugh A. Smith Matthew C. Smith Ruth Steiner Catherine Striley

Imanol Suarez-Palma Melanie G. Taylor Saundra TenBroeck David Therriault Vilma Torres Steve Tufts

Anastasia Ulanowicz Hannah Vander Zanden Wagner Vendrame Nathalie Wall Nian Wang Houston A. Wells Karen Whalen Gene Witmer Sarah Wolking Stefanie Wulff Jennifer Zedalis

Liaisons

David C. Bloom Joseph W. Little Keith Rambo Sean Trainor Danaya Wright

Student Senators Riya Chakraborty Ethan Ghozali Anthony Valenzuela

Guests

Kendal Broad-Wright, UF Faculty Maria Camacho, WUFT Noticias MaryKay Carodine, UF Student Life Christian Casale, The Alligator

Cara Casy, UF Faculty Siena Duncan, The Alligator Emily Ferguson, WUFT

James Gerien-Chen, UF Faculty Gershon Harrell, Gainesville Sun

Allison Knowles, UF Staff
Mariana Larsen, WUFT
Jack Lemnus, WUFT
Massiel Leyva, CBS4
Lisa Lundy, UF Faculty
Ronin Lupien, UF Student
Walter O'Dell, UF Faculty
Rae Riiska, The Alligator

Cynthia Roldan, UF Strategic Comm

Leyla Santiago, CNN

Oscar Santiago Perez, UF Student

Jerry Simonson, CNN Zitlali Solache, WCJB TV20 Arnoldo Valle-Levinson, UF Faculty

Mistie Webb, WUFT

Monica Webb, UF GatorWell

Sara Weisfeldt, CNN