## Constitution of the University of Florida

## Section 3. THE SCHOOLS-

- (A) A school, except for the Graduate School and Hamilton School, shall be a unit subordinate to a college organized for a special program of studies. A school may consist of two or more departments or may consist of no departments.
- (B) The members of a school shall consist of all faculty members i) who are appointed to the department or ii) who teach or do research in the department and who are accepted by vote of the faculty.
- (C) The program of a school shall be conducted by the school faculty through a director, who shall have general responsibility for the activities of the school.
- (D) With the exception of the Hamilton School, The the director shall be nominated by the dean of the college and approved by the President or the President's designee. In making this nomination, the dean shall give consideration to the opinion of the faculty of the school concerned by consultation with a special committee of at least three faculty members elected by the faculty of the school. The director shall be subject to the administrative supervision of the dean of the college in which the school is located. The director may also serve as chair of one or more departments in the school. In those instances where the special committee does not concur in the nominee of the dean(s) of the college(s), the committee's report should be forwarded to the President or the President's designee along with the nomination made by the dean(s).