

Faculty Senate Meeting Minutes October 19, 2023 - 3:00 p.m. Reitz Chamber

https://mediasite.video.ufl.edu/Mediasite/Channel/8456cbab10b449868436ee51ddb84dc45f/watch/6ff1dd5868b0469b95eca5c93754e19a1d

Call to Order & Approval of September 28, 2023 Minutes Danaya Wright, Chair

- The meeting was called to order at 3:05 p.m. by Faculty Senate chair Danaya Wright.
- The minutes were approved.

Reports:

• President's Report

Ben Sasse, President

- Dr. Sasse: discussed that campus infrastructure and construction priorities will be taken up with the legislature next session; discussed the strategic funding process and encouraged interdisciplinary collaboration projects; university opportunities in Jacksonville and speeding up related approval and decision-making processes; provided context and comment to both his October 10 statement on Israel to UF Jewish alumni and to the October 9 Turlington Plaza vigil for Israel incident, including UF's comment policy (of institutional reticence) implemented in March; expressed support of Chair Wright's administrative burdens project; and answered inquiries.

• Provost's Report

Scott Angle, Interim Provost

- Dr. Angle expressed gratitude to UF faculty, students, and police for their handling of sensitive current event discussions and expressions of protest or support.
- UF has over 200 centers which will be reviewed for their value and contributions to students and the university. A similar review of university mandates and centralized systems is occurring via Chair Wright's administrative burdens project.
- Chair's Report

Danaya Wright, Chair

- Faculty Senate Chair Wright presented the <u>Faculty Senate Chair's Report</u> and answered inquiries.

Information Items:

Introduction, Post-tenure Review, and Faculty Recruitment

Diane Schanzenbach, Associate Provost & Senior Advisor to the President for Academic Excellence

- Associate Provost Schanzenbach provided an overview of her professional and educational background, her office's priorities, and the <u>Florida BOG 10.003 Post-Tenure Faculty Review</u> including its requirements and process requirements, cyclic timing, its specific prohibitions, and university concerns being addressed.
- Associate Provost Schanzenbach, Interim Provost Angle, and Chair Wright answered inquiries.

Graduate Council

Tom Kelleher, Graduate School

- Close Master of International Construction Management Associate Dean for Academic Affairs

- This program termination is being requested due to low enrollment and graduation rates and will not affect any currently enrolled students.
- This item was moved to Action by the required 2/3 vote.
- This item was approved.

Campus Environmental Planning

Linda Dixon, Director of Planning Planning, Design & Construction Division

- Director Dixon shared details about UF's Campus Master Plan, Landscape Master Plan, Campus Trails Plan, Conservation Land Management (CALM) Plan, Lake Alice Watershed Management Plan, as well as the website where this information can be found: https://facilities.ufl.edu/campus-planning/.

Shared Governance Resolution

Danaya Wright, Chair

- Chair Wright presented this resolution on behalf of the Ad Hoc Committee which met last year and which she chaired. The Report of the Ad hoc Task Force on Shared Governance made assessments of and recommendations to strengthen UF shared governance, including suggested passage of this resolution. Chair Wright answered inquiries and noted that this is an opportunity to provide attention to college constitutions and consider how they fit within the university's shared governance structure.

BOT Regulations

Katie Vogel Anderson, Member, University Constitution & Regulations Committee (UCRC)

- Dr. Vogel Anderson presented the UCRC lighting of the regulations which will be considered at the December Board of Trustees (BOT) meeting.
- The UCRC has adopted a color-coded key for easily informing the Faculty Senate of proposed regulation changes that may affect Senators or their colleagues:
 - Red proposed changes affect the faculty; please review and comment as appropriate.
 - Yellow proposed changes may affect or be of interest to faculty; senators may want to review and comment as appropriate.
 - **Green** proposed changes likely have minimal effect on faculty and do not necessarily warrant further review by the senators.
 - o 3.006 (Parking): Green
 - o 3.020 (Procurement): Green
 - o 4.040 (Student Honor Code & Student Conduct Code): Red
- The <u>Student Life Executive Summary</u> (of the honor code-related items) was presented to Senate last month and was also reviewed this month.
- The regulations will be posted 30 days before the December Board meeting at which they are being considered at: https://policy.ufl.edu/ and there will then be a 14-day [from the time of posting] comment period.

<u>Open Discussion from Senate Floor</u> - Three-minute limit per speaker.

- 1) University of Florida Faculty Senators
 - (UNV LIBR) Senator Hélène Huet asked for clarification of and how to increase transparency surrounding the college projects receiving strategic funding awards. Chair Wright clarified the legislative funding pathway and timelines.
 - (CJC) Senator Houston Wells requested information about allowable collaboration as it pertains to Senate Bill 846. Chair Wright will explore this subject and return with information next month.

- (CLAS) Senator Gene Witmer discussed the merits of UF union membership and its need to reach 60%.
- 2) University of Florida Faculty
 - There was no discussion from the Senate floor by university faculty.

Adjournment

- The meeting adjourned at 4:24 p.m.

Attending

SenatorsRobert L. HatchHugh A. SmithHolly AbeelsAmie HoefnagelBenjamin SmithMichael AherneCarolyn HollandAdam Wayne SternLuis Alvarez-CastroHélène HuetIan D. Storch

Christopher James Anthony Robert W. Huigens, III Imanol Suarez-Palma Angela Bacsik Jill Ingram Melanie G. Taylor **Imre Bartos** Raymond Issa Saundra TenBroeck Marguerite Beckford Sarah Rajkumari Jayasekaran **David Therriault** Frederick 'Rick' Kates Lauren Berkow **Cyntrice Thomas** Sally Bethart Valeria Kleiman Vilma Torres

Mario Binelli John Kraft Hannah Vander Zanden Sarah Brunnig Jaclyn Kropp Wagner Vendrame **Brett Bultemeier** Ji-Hyun Lee Jason von Meding Megan Butala Mengyu Li Nathalie A. Wall Andrea Caloiaro Sarah Lynne Nian Wang Rachel Carrico Lucas Majure Houston A. Wells Michael A. Carrillo Diba Mani Gene Witmer Nico Cellinese A. Corinne Manley Stefanie Wulff Jinghua Chen Willm Martens-Habbena Feifei Xiao

Konstantina Crystal Marull

John Alexander Mendoza-Christodoulopoulou Liaisons Mayra L Cordero Garcia Scott Angle Maddy Coy **Charles Mitchell** Tom Kelleher Cynda Crawford Judi Shade Monk Joseph W. Little Santanu K. Datta Naim Montazeri Walter O'Dell Michael K. Davis Amanda Phalin Christine T. Myers Matthew Decker John K. Neubert **Taylor Rose** Ben Sasse Luisa (Amelia) Dempere Cuong Nguyen Scott Denton Juan Nino Richard Scholtz

Richard B. Dickinson Monika Oli Katie Vogel Anderson William P. Dishong Silvana Paula Moraes Danaya Wright

Randell Doty Jorg Peters

Gayle Nelson Evans Heidi Radunovich Student Senators
Jeanne Ewert Sandip Ray Krystal B. Glasford

Sara Moscovita Falzarano Czerne Reid Jasleen Kaur
Breann Garbas Jemmie Robertson Matthew L. Reich
Jamie Garner Esther F. Romeyn Krystar B. Glasioru
Mystar B. Glasioru
Masthew L. Reich
Kevin G. Senior

Laurie M. GaugerDavid Gaddis RossIfigeneia GiannadakiEleonora RossiGuestsFrank GibsonJudi Schack-DugreLinda DixonVivian E. GonsalvesMegan SheridanMonica Webb

Marshall Haning Jinnie Shin