

Faculty Senate Meeting Minutes November 16, 2023 - 3:00 p.m.

Reitz Chamber

https://mediasite.video.ufl.edu/Mediasite/Channel/8456cbab10b449868436ee51ddb84dc45f/watch/8e4b69048029406db5eeaa2a59582c1c1d

Call to Order & Approval of October 19, 2023 Minutes Danaya Wright, Chair

- The meeting was called to order at 3:00 p.m. by Faculty Senate chair Danaya Wright.

- The minutes were approved.

Reports:

• President's Report

Ben Sasse, President

- Dr. Sasse answered inquiries and relayed updates on the Collective Bargaining Agreement (CBA) negotiations, including the 2023-4 3.2% merit increase for in-unit faculty, which is retroactively effective; strategic funding initiatives advancing research funding and enhancing student experiences; opportunities in Jacksonville and leveraging AI models into curriculum and collaborative college partnerships; and STEM and core curriculum crossovers and potentials at UF.

• Provost's Report

Scott Angle, Interim Provost

To increase its focus on teaching and learning, a review of the Provost Office's budget and functions is underway. Dr. Angle anticipates being in the Interim Provost role until August 2024.
To increase UF's Return on Investment (ROI), Deans and Department Chairs are being asked to review and close unused or inessential centers.

- Search updates were provided, including that: the Whitney Lab Director search is underway; the Herbert Wertheim College of Engineering search is on the books; the Levin College of Law Dean search is commencing as he speaks with college faculty this month; the College of Arts Dean search will begin next year; and the College of Medicine search is under the purview of the UF Health President (and not the Provost Office).

• <u>Chair's Report</u> - Chair Wright presented the Chair's Report and answered inquiries.

Action Items:

Shared Governance Resolution

This resolution, generated as a recommendation of the <u>Report of the Ad hoc Task Force on Shared</u> <u>Governance</u>, which made assessments of and recommendations to strengthen UF shared governance, carried.

Information Items:

Introduction of Sr. VP Kratzer

David Kratzer, Senior VP for Construction, Facilities, and Auxiliary Operations

- Sr. VP Kratzer discussed his office's mission; areas of operation, including construction, facilities and auxiliaries; and current and near-term campus projects, including Malachowsky Hall (DSIT), Honors Village, Baby Gator, and the new Disability Resource Center (DSR). He also discussed and answered

Danaya Wright, Chair

inquiries pertaining to and including campus safety initiatives and the unisex restrooms campus map.

University Curriculum Committee

- <u>Termination of BS in Horticultural Science</u>

- This is a request by CALS to terminate the BS in Horticultural Science and has been approved by the UCC.

Graduate Council

- <u>Close the Master of Arts with a Major in Religion</u>

- Close the Master of Arts with a Major in Classical Studies

- The faculty and Graduate Council request closure of these programs due to low enrollment and low demand.

Open Discussion from Senate Floor - Three-minute limit per speaker.

1) University of Florida Faculty Senators

- Senator Jamie Garner (CLAS) recognized transgender week and relayed concerns about the negative effects of policies denying equal treatment and inclusion and the harmful effects of transgender regulations implementation.

- Senator Gene Witmer (CLAS) encouraged Senators and faculty to provide comments to the Board of Governors (BOG) on the DEI bill and bathroom bill to highlight core contradictions.

2) University of Florida Faculty

- Faculty member Chenglong Li (PHARM) inquired about and expressed the pressing need to receive clarification on the BOG regulation pertaining to the review of the hiring of post-docs from China, a <u>'country of concern'</u>. Chair Wright responded that UF has not asked the BOG for further clarification while the BOG continues to draft its regulation(s), so the best resource at this time is for Department Chairs or Deans to contact the General Counsel's Office for further clarification.

Adjournment

- The meeting adjourned at 4:48 p.m.

Attending

Senators Holly Abeels Jose F. Abisambra Michael Aherne Luis Alvarez-Castro Christopher James Anthony Haldun Aytug Angela Bacsik **Katie Basinger** Marguerite Beckford Mario Binelli Sarah Brunnig Brett Bultemeier Megan Butala Andrea Caloiaro Michael A. Carrillo Teresa Cavanaugh Nico Cellinese

Jinghua Chen Konstantina Christodoulopoulou Mayra L Cordero Cynda Crawford Tamara Lee Cushing Michael K. Davis Luisa (Amelia) Dempere Scott Denton David Deremer William P. Dishong Randell Doty James Essegbey Gayle Nelson Evans Jeanne Ewert Sara Moscovita Falzarano Breann Garbas Jamie Garner

Ifigeneia Giannadaki Frank Gibson Vivian E. Gonsalves Liwei Gu Robert L. Hatch **Carolyn Holland** Hélène Huet Robert W. Huigens, III Jill Ingram Sarah Rajkumari Jayasekaran Frederick 'Rick' Kates Samantha Kennedy Valeria Kleiman John Kraft Jaclyn Kropp McKenzie Landrum Yu Hao Lee Zhigang Li

Tom Kelleher, Graduate School Associate Dean for Academic Affairs

Angela Lindner, Associate Provost for Undergraduate Affairs

Keya Locke Charlene Luke Diba Mani Alexandra L. Mannix Willm Martens-Habbena Crystal Marull John Alexander Mendoza-Garcia Charles Mitchell Judi Shade Monk Naim Montazeri Christine T. Myers John K. Neubert Juan Nino Monika Oli Silvana Paula-Moraes Jorg Peters Czerne Reid David Gaddis Ross Peter Sayeski

Sudeep S. Sidhu Hugh A. Smith Matthew C. Smith Ruth Steiner Svetlana Stepchenkova Adam Wayne Stern Ian D. Storch Catherine Striley Saundra TenBroeck Cyntrice Thomas R. James Toussaint Hannah Vander Zanden Nian Wang Gene Witmer Sarah Wolking

Liaisons Scott Angle Chris Hass Tom Kelleher David Kratzer Angela Lindner Joseph W. Little Walter O'Dell Amanda Phalin Ben Sasse Richard Scholtz

Student Senators Max Geller Krystal B. Glasford Jasleen Kaur Kevin G. Senior

Guests Chenglong Li Ronin Lupien Teje Ostebo Dave Bloom