

Faculty Senate Meeting Minutes August 24, 2023 - 3:00 p.m. Reitz Union Rion Ballroom - East

https://mediasite.video.ufl.edu/Mediasite/Channel/8456cbab10b449868436ee51ddb84dc45f/watch/a5263d73e7a9423e9bd57c6aefa5f9631d

Welcome

Danaya Wright, Chair

- The meeting was called to order at 3:00 p.m. by Faculty Senate Chair Danaya Wright, who welcomed Senators and guests.

Action Item:

Approval of May 4, 2023 Minutes

Danaya Wright, Chair

- The minutes were approved.

Reports:

State of the University Address

Ben Sasse, President University of Florida

- President Sasse presented the 2023 State of the University Address and answered Senators' inquiries.

Interim Provost's Report

Scott Angle, Interim Provost

- Interim Provost Angle answered inquiries and provided an overview of his background, his role as Interim Provost, forthcoming Provost's Office initiatives, AI support on campus, including the October AI symposium, an update on the Whitney Labs Director search and the Dean searches for the College of the Arts, the Herbert Wertheim College of Engineering, and the Levin College of Law, and the status and procedures of post tenure review.

Chair's Report

Danaya Wright, Chair

- --Report of the Ad hoc Task Force on Shared Governance_+ pp. 9-10: Resolution
- --Reducing Administrative Burdens
- Faculty Senate Chair Wright discussed priorities for this academic year and presented the <u>Faculty Senate</u> <u>Chair's Report</u>.

Information Items:

SB 266 Changes to General Education Curriculum

Angela Lindner, Associate Provost

Undergraduate Affairs

- At the request of the Faculty Senate Steering Committee, Associate Provost Lindner <u>presented</u> a comprehensive overview and update on SB 266's impact on and changes to UF's General Education requirements and curriculum.

Open Discussion from Senate Floor - Three-minute limit per speaker.

- 1) University of Florida Faculty Senators
 - CLAS Senator Gene Witmer emphasized the need for due process in post-tenure review.
 - ENG Senator Juan Nino expressed the need for clarity of assigned duties when faculty undergo review.
- 2) University of Florida Faculty
 - There was no discussion from the Senate floor by university faculty.

Adjournment

- The meeting adjourned at 5:29 p.m. and a reception, sponsored by Curtis Reynolds, VP, Business Affairs and Faculty Senate, immediately followed in Rion Ballroom – West.

Attending

Senators Holly Abeels Jose F. Abisambra Luis Alvarez-Castro

Christopher James Anthony

Haldun Aytug Angela Bacsik Imre Bartos Katie Basinger Marguerite Beckford Lauren Berkow Sally Bethart Mario Binelli

Jeremiah J. Blanchard

Eleni Bozia
Brett Bultemeier
Michael Bumbach
Megan Butala
Andrea Caloiaro
Rachel Carrico
Michael A. Carrillo
Teresa Cavanaugh
Nico Cellinese
Jinghua Chen

Christodoulopoulou Mayra L Cordero Maddy Coy Cynda Crawford Tamara Lee Cushing

Konstantina

Michael K. Davis

Matthew Decker Luisa (Amelia) Dempere Thomas Denagamage

Scott Denton
David Deremer
Richard B. Dickinson
William B. Dickens

William P. Dishong

Randell Doty Guy El Helou

James Essegbey Gayle Nelson Evans Jeanne Ewert

Sara Moscovita Falzarano

Michael Feely

Monica A. Fernandez

Breann Garbas Jamie Garner Laurie M. Gauger Ifigeneia Giannadaki

Frank Gibson Marshall Haning Carolyn Holland Hélène Huet Jill Ingram Raymond Issa

Sarah Rajkumari Jayasekaran

Samantha Kennedy Valeria Kleiman

Jaclyn Kropp McKenzie Landrum

Yu Hao Lee Mengyu Li Qing Lu

John Kraft

Charlene Luke Sarah Lynne Lucas Majure Diba Mani Alexandra L. Mannix

Crystal Marull John A. Mendoza-Garcia Charles Mitchell

Judi Shade Monk Christine T. Myers John K. Neubert Cuong Nguyen Juan Nino

Monika Oli Silvana Paula-Moraes

Jorg Peters Heidi Radunovich Sandip Ray Czerne Reid

Mary Risner

Jemmie Robertson

Bruno De Souza Ribeiro

David Gaddis Ross

Eleonora Rossi Peter Sayeski Judi Schack-Dugre Megan Sheridan Sudeep S. Sidhu Hugh A. Smith

Hugh A. Smith Matthew C. Smith

Ruth Steiner

Svetlana Stepchenkova

Ian D. Storch
Catherine Striley
Imanol Suarez-Palma
Saundra TenBroeck
Cyntrice Thomas
Vilma Torres

R, James Toussaint Hannah Vander Zanden Jason von Meding

Nian Wang

Houston A. Wells

Bruce Welt Gene Witmer Sarah Wolking Stefanie Wulff Feifei Xiao

Liaisons
Scott Angle
Stephanie Bogart
Glenn Good
Tom Kelleher
Colleen Koch
Angela Lindner
Merritt McAlister
Amanda Phalin
Ben Sasse
Elaine Turner

Student Senators
Santiago Alvarez
Britney A. Deas
Jasleen Kaur
Matthew L. Reich
Kevin G. Senior

Beth Virnig

Guests

Stephanie Bogart Erica Dale Keith Diem Robert Holt

Chris Moran Joseph Riley Oscar Santiago Perez

Judy Traveis

John Un