

Faculty Senate Meeting Minutes March 21, 2024 3:00 p.m. Reitz Chamber

https://mediasite.video.ufl.edu/Mediasite/Channel/8456cbab10b449868436ee51ddb84dc45f/watch/e16d90d6d33a4a02a8f8a522daaf95c91d

Call to Order & Approval of February 15, 2024 Minutes Danaya Wright, Chair

- The meeting was called to order at 3:00 p.m. by Faculty Senate Chair Dr. Danaya Wright and the minutes were approved.

Reports:

• President's Report

- Chair Wright read aloud a <u>statement by President Sasse</u>.
- Chair-elect Lynne was introduced and provided a brief update that the General Education task force, which was charged by President Sasse in his December 14, 2023 Faculty Senate video report, has a launch meeting next week. It's membership make-up, processes, and goal to find and share information and represent campus members were reviewed. Questions were answered related to Quest and the humanities and Chair Wright noted that Dr. Sasse expressed support that UF can advocate the task force findings to the Florida legislature. Please direct related inquiries to Chair-elect Lynne.

• Provost's Report

Scott Angle, Provost

- Provost Angle followed up on the inquires made in the above item, including that while President Sasse is open to all considerations, there has been no discussion about breaking the humanities curriculum into its own college. He briefly discussed the Hamilton Center/CLAS, and the dynamic environments of the Gen Ed core and Quest.
- A Provost's newsletter and comment board will be set up for faculty feedback and Q&As.
- The Provost has received a request for increased faculty engagement with the retired faculty of UF. Please ask your department if there are opportunities which would be beneficial for both parties.
- An update on Post-tenure review was provided. Progress continues with the units in the Collective Bargaining Agreement (CBA). Associate Provost of Academic & Faculty Affairs Chris Hass has given the Provost a schedule: on May 10 all the deans' rankings must be submitted to the Provost's Office and the results must be given to the Board of Governors by July 1st. Updates will continue to be shared.
- The Provost shared the university and Provost's Office's approach to the DEI requirements set by the Board of Governors (BOG); these requirements will be met by the university but UF will not exceed the requirements set by the legislature and the BOG.
- The Provost answered Senators' questions related to quantifying the impacts of the above DEI requirements, DEI applications in Gen Ed and Gen Ed engagement with the western cannon, impacts of the DEI requirements on the university, and faculty input into the post-tenure criteria and process.

Chair's Report

Danaya Wright, Chair

- Chair Wright presented the Chair's Report slides.

Action Items:

Resolution on Civil Discourse, Free Expression, and Academic Freedom

Danaya Wright, Chair

- Following presentation of the <u>resolution</u>, a <u>friendly amendment</u>, in which there were two abstentions and no objections, carried.
- A motion to approve the <u>resolution as amended</u> carried with three abstentions and no objections.

2028-2029 Academic Calendar

Hans van Oostrom, Interim Chair, UCC

- Dr. van Oostrom reviewed the calendar and noted that, consistent with Faculty Senate mandate, Spring Break will be added to match Alachua County Public Schools' Spring Break once the latter is known; Spring classes commence on January 16th (which is after the Martin Luther King Birthday holiday); and Homecoming will be added, ideally in October, after consultation with University Athletics.
- This item carried unanimously.

Information Items:

Empowering UF

Elias Eldayrie, Vice President & CIO

- Vice President and Chief Information Officer (CIO) Elias Eldayrie presented an update on the preparations underway for the implementation of Workday, which is scheduled to start in July 2024 with implementation scheduled for 2027, and which the Board of Trustees approved as the next UF Enterprise Resource Planning (ERP) system.
- An overview of One UF vision was shared, including project components and the critical factors for success during the project and after Workday is implemented.
- The project's scope was outlined and will impact all UF units and administrative domains including Human Resources, Payroll, Finance, Post-award Grants Administration, and Data and Reporting.
- CIO Eldayrie asked for faculty feedback to inform the design and configuration roll-out and would like to return periodically to the Faculty Senate to present updates.

Open Discussion from Senate Floor - Three-minute limit per speaker.

- 1) University of Florida Faculty Senators
- 2) University of Florida Faculty
- -There was no discussion from the Senate floor.

Adjournment

- The meeting adjourned at 4:21 p.m.

Attending Sally Bethart Michael A. Carrillo Senators Mario Binelli Teresa Cavanaugh Holly Abeels Sarah Brunnig Nico Cellinese Michael Aherne Brett Bultemeier Konstantina Luis Alvarez-Castro Michael Bumbach Christodoulopoulou Christopher James Anthony Megan Butala Mayra L. Cordero Angela Bacsik Andrea Caloiaro Maddy Coy Lauren Berkow Rachel Carrico Cynda Crawford

Tamara Lee Cushing Paul Davenport Michael K. Davis Luisa (Amelia) Dempere

Thomas Denagamage

David Deremer William P. Dishong

Randell Doty
Guy El Helou
James Essegbey
Gayle Nelson Evans
Jeanne Ewert

Sara Moscovita Falzarano

Michael Feely Jamie Garner Frank Gibson Liwei Gu

Robert L. Hatch Selman Hershfield Carolyn Holland Hélène Huet

Robert W. Huigens, III

Flora Iff-Noel Jill Ingram

Sarah Rajkumari Jayasekaran

Frederick 'Rick' Kates Samantha Kennedy Valeria Kleiman Jaclyn Kropp

McKenzie Landrum

Yu Hao Lee Mengyu Li Charlene Luke Sarah Lynne Diba Mani

Alexandra L. Mannix Willm Martens-Habbena

Crystal Marull

John Alexander Mendoza-

Garcia

Charles Mitchell Don Monk

Judi Shade Monk John K. Neubert Cuong Nguyen Juan Nino

Silvana Paula-Moraes

Jorg Peters

Heidi Radunovich Czerne Reid Mary Risner Jemmie Robertson

Esther F. Romeyn David Gaddis Ross Eleonora Rossi Peter Sayeski Judi Schack-Dugre Sudeep S. Sidhu Hugh A. Smith Benjamin Smith Matthew C. Smith

Ruth Steiner Svetlana Stepchenkova

lan D. Storch Catherine Striley Imanol Suarez-Palma Cyntrice Thomas
R. James Toussaint
Hannah Vander Zanden
Jason von Meding

Jason von Meding Nathalie A. Wall

Nian Wang

Houston A. Wells Gene Witmer Sarah Wolking Stefanie Wulff Feifei Xiao

Liaisons
Scott Angle
Elias Eldayrie
Chris Hass
Tom Kelleher
Joseph W. Little
Walter O'Dell
Amanda Phalin
Richard Scholtz
Hans van Oostrom

Student Senators
Max Geller
Krystal Glasford
Jasleen Kaur
Kevin Senior

Guests