

# Faculty Senate Meeting Minutes February 15, 2024 3:00 p.m. Reitz Chamber

https://mediasite.video.ufl.edu/Mediasite/Channel/8456cbab10b449868436ee51ddb84dc45f/watch/c6b9bf0107874737ba3f06f172ffbd871d

# Call to Order & Approval of January 18, 2024 Minutes Danaya Wright, Chair

- The meeting was called to order at 3:00 p.m. by Faculty Senate chair Danaya Wright.
- The minutes were approved.

# **Reports:**

# • Provost's Report

# Scott Angle, Provost

- The President and Provost's Office is collaborating on increasing UF's rankings to the Top Five and on achieving other meaningful academic criteria, such as UF's ranking as #2 for Fulbright Scholars.
- Post tenure review information for out-of-unit faculty has been released to the deans while bargaining continues for faculty covered by the Collective Bargaining Agreement (CBA). More information will be forthcoming. Out-of-CBA faculty who are to undergo post tenure review this cycle have now been notified. Provost Angle provided an overview of the process. Associate Provosts Hass and Schanzenbach have designed the process to be as straight forward and efficient as possible and will continue to be available to assist faculty.
- Inquiries related to UF's promotion and tenure process and metrics were answered.

#### Chair's Report

#### Danaya Wright, Chair

- Faculty Senate Chair Wright presented the <u>Faculty Senate Chair's Report</u> and answered inquiries.
- The report included notes forwarded by President Sasse who is traveling today.
- Manual balloting is being utilized for today's meeting.

# **Action Items:**

#### **Graduate Council**

Tom Kelleher, Graduate School

- Close the MS in Animal Molecular and Cellular Biology
- Associate Dean for Academic Affairs
- This is a request to close this low enrollment program, with a phase out occurring through Spring 2025.
- This item carried.
- Create the Dept. of Pharmacy Education and Practice

This proposed department will be primarily clinically focused and has generated rigorous faculty review and support. No degrees are changing within the proposed department re-alignment, and the Department of Pharmacotherapy and Translational Research (PTR) will remain in existence with graduate faculty.

- This item carried.

# **University Curriculum Committee**

- Hans van Oostrom, Interim Chair, UCC - Modify the Classification of Instructional Programs (CIP) and Chair and Associate Professor, EED code for the Agricultural Operations Management (AOM) Program
- This request by CALS' Agricultural Operations Management program is to create a new track in a CIP code for the existing AOM major, with a different set of common prerequisite courses (compared to those the Florida BOG currently lists.)
- This item carried.

## **Information Items:**

# **Introduction of VP for Jacksonville Programs**

Kurt Dudas, VP for Jacksonville Programs

- VP Dudas introduced himself and discussed the Jacksonville degree and certificate programs expected to be launched in Fall 2025, although many will have a rolling timeline. Work with industry partners and AI concentrations were reviewed, as well as collaborative and physical space plans and opportunities. Inquiries were answered, including urban development prospects and updates on the ongoing collaboration between other State University System (SUS) schools, UF Health, and the city and community of Jacksonville.

## **University Honors Program Update**

Melissa L. Johnson, Interim Director **University Honors Program** 

- Director Johnson answered inquiries and provided an overview of the honors program, including its focus, goals, student population, and office contact information. She discussed who the honors program students are in and outside of the classroom, and how faculty can partner with this program. Honors students Nick Blumenthal, Patrick Grey, and Julianne Owen were introduced, and they spoke about their honors program experience.

# Resolution on Civil Discourse, Free Expression, and Academic Freedom

Danaya Wright, Chair

- Chair Wright provided background on this resolution, including the 1967 Kalven Report (advocating political neutrality in higher education), the Chicago Principles (advocating for neutrality so freedom of expression can be fully exercised) and the Florida Board of Governors (BOG) recommendation that every student and faculty senate endorse its State University System (SUS) Free Expression Statement annually. The handling of this issue by peer and SUS institutions, compelled speech, free expression, and the Princeton Principles (which advocates for a campus culture of free inquiry) were also discussed.
- This resolution, crafted by Chair Wright, and which includes the SUS Free Expression Statement, was approved at the last Faculty Senate Steering Committee meeting and will be an Action Item at next month's Senate meeting.

# 2028-2029 Academic Calendar

Hans van Oostrom, Interim Chair, UCC and Chair and Associate Professor, EED

- Dr. van Oostrom reviewed the calendar and answered inquiries. Spring Break will be added once Alachua County Public Schools' Spring Break is known and there are no classes the week of Thanksgiving, both of which are consistent with Faculty Senate's previous approval vote of the academic calendar. Spring classes commence on January 16th (which is after the Martin Luther King Birthday holiday).

**Open Discussion from Senate Floor** - Three-minute limit per speaker.

- 1) University of Florida Faculty Senators
- 2) University of Florida Faculty
- There was no open discussion from the Senate floor.

# Adjournment

- The meeting adjourned at 4:53 p.m.

Attending

Senators

Jose F. Abisambra Michael Aherne Luis Alvarez-Castro Haldun Aytug Norman Beatty

Marguerite Beckford Lauren Berkow

Mario Binelli
Eleni Bozia
Sarah Brunnig
Brett Bultemeier
Michael Bumbach

Andrea Caloiaro Rachel Carrico Teresa Cavanaugh Mayra L. Cordero Maddy Coy

Cynda Crawford
Santanu K. Datta
Paul Davenport
Michael K. Davis
Matthew Decker
Scott Denton
David Deremer

Richard B. Dickinson Randell Doty James Essegbey Gayle Nelson Evans

Jeanne Ewert

Sara Moscovita Falzarano

Michael Feely Breann Garbas Laurie M. Gauger Frank Gibson

Vivian E. Gonsalves

Liwei Gu

Marshall Haning Robert L. Hatch Amie Hoefnagel Carolyn Holland Hélène Huet

Robert W. Huigens, III

Flora Iff-Noel Raymond Issa

Sarah Rajkumari Jayasekaran

Frederick 'Rick' Kates Samantha Kennedy Valeria Kleiman Jaclyn Kropp

Mengyu Li Qing Lu Sarah Lynne

Diba Mani

Yu Hao Lee

A. Corinne Manley Alexandra Mannix

Willm Martens-Habbena John A. Mendoza-Garcia

Charles Mitchell

Don Monk

Judi Shade Monk Christine T. Myers John K. Neubert Cuong Nguyen Dennis Odero Monika Oli

Heidi Radunovich

Sandip Ray Mary Risner David Gaddis Ross Eleonora Rossi Peter Sayeski Judi Shack-Dugre Megan Sheridan

Jinnie Shin

Sudeep Singh Sidhu Benjamin Smith Hugh A. Smith Matthew C. Smith Ruth Steiner

Svetlana Stepchenkova Adam Wayne Stern

Ian D Storch
Catherine Striley
Imanol Suarez-Palma
Saundra TenBroeck
Cyntrice Thomas
R. James Toussaint
Anastasia M. Ulanowicz
Hannah Vander Zanden

Silvana Vieira de Paula Nathalie A. Wall Nian Wang Houston A. Wells Gene Witmer Sarah Wolking

Stefanie Wulff

Liaisons
Scott Angle
Nancy Clark
Kurt Dudas
Tom Kelleher
Walter O'Dell
Amanda Phalin
Richard Scholtz

Student Senators Max Geller Matthew Reich Kevin Senior

Hans van Oostrom

Guests
Nick Blumenthal
Larisa Cavallari
Patrick Grey
Melissa Johnson
Chris Moran

Julianne Owen