

Faculty Senate Meeting Minutes December 14, 2023 3:00 p.m. Reitz Chamber

Call to Order & Approval of November 16, 2023 Minutes Danaya Wright, Chair

- The meeting was called to order at 3:00 p.m. by Faculty Senate chair Danaya Wright.
- The minutes were approved.

Action Items:

University Curriculum Committee

Angela Lindner, Associate Provost for

- <u>Termination of BS in Horticultural Science</u>

Undergraduate Affairs

- This is a request by CALS to terminate the BS in Horticultural Science and has been approved by the UCC.
- This item carried.

Graduate Council

Tom Kelleher, Graduate School

- Associate Dean for Academic Affairs
- Close the Master of Arts with a Major in Religion
- Close the Master of Arts with a Major in Classical Studies
- The faculty and Graduate Council request closure of these programs due to low enrollment and low demand.
- A motion to approve the closure of the Master of Arts with a Major in Religion carried.
- A motion to approve the closure of the Master of Arts with a Major in Classical Studies carried with one abstention.

Information Items:

Introduction of VP Wegmann

James Wegmann, VP for Communications

- This item was moved forward to accommodate VP Wegmann's travel schedule.
- VP Wegmann answered inquiries and introduced himself and UF communications initiatives being undertaken by his office, including ways to generate increased exposure of UF and faculty success stories on local and international platforms.

Reports:

Provost's Report

Scott Angle, Interim Provost

- Dr. Angle addressed countries of concern faculty inquiries and he continues work with Associate Provosts Hass and Schazenbach to identify how to best adhere to legislative and regulation requirements pertaining to post-tenure review.
- The Provost's Office organizational review is progressing.
- Administrative and search updates were provided: the Whitney Laboratory Director, and the Levin College of Law and the Herbert Wertheim College of Engineering Dean searches are

advancing and will be faculty and stakeholder-driven; beginning in January, Dr. Jennifer Setlow will be the Interim College of Arts Dean and Associate Provost Lindner will step down from her Associate Provost role to return to the College of Engineering faculty.

- Dr. Angle recognized Past Faculty Senate Chair and current Board of Governor member Dr. Amanda Phalin for her faculty advocacy.

Chair's Report

Danaya Wright, Chair

- Faculty Senate Chair Wright presented the Faculty Senate Chair's Report and answered inquiries. The floor was opened (video: 1:09:30 – 2:03:26) to UF Faculty Senators and UF faculty guests wishing to discuss SB 846/HB 7017/Countries of Concern matters. Interim Provost Scott Angle and Dean of the International Center & Associate Provost Marta Wayne made topic comments and assisted in answering extensive inquiries. Dean Wayne noted that the bill is not retroactive, does not place legal limitations on to student enrollment but instead pertains to the hiring of RA's, TA's, and GA's, who are considered employees, and whose appointments from 'countries of concern' will not move forward unless they go through the process mandated and overseen by the BOG (via and as per the BOG regulation). Students will still be able to visit their home countries. Chair Wright will take the faculty's concerns and comments to the administration, the Board of Trustees and the Board of Governors and will continue to work on resolving outstanding issues associated with this legislation and BOG regulation. - Dr. Sasse submitted a President's Report video, shared by Chair Wright, which outlined a request for Faculty Senate input on policy development for UF core curriculum and faculty

academic standards, as well as President Sasse's response to recent inaccurate news narratives.

Proclamation Commending the Service of Associate Provost Angela Lindner

Jeremiah Blanchard, ENG Senator & Steering Committee Member

- A motion to move this Information Item to an Action Item carried by the required 2/3 vote.
- A motion to approve Faculty Senate commendation of Associate Provost Lindner carried, with a standing ovation.

Information Items (continued):

- Due to time constraints, the below/remaining Information Items are being placed on the next Faculty Senate agenda:

Strategic Plan for Animal and Human Subject Research **Resources Update**

David Norton, VP for Research

Intercollegiate Athletics Committee (IAC) Report

Christopher M. Janelle, Professor, Applied Physiology & Kinesiology and UF SEC & NCAA **Faculty Athletics Representative**

International Center for Academic Integrity (ICAI) Survey Results

John Jordi, Instructional Assessment Coordinator, Center for Teaching Excellence

University Curriculum Committee

Angela Lindner, Associate Provost for **Undergraduate Affairs**

- Modify the Classification of Instructional Programs (CIP)

code for the Agricultural Operations Management (AOM) Program

Graduate Council

- Close the MS in Animal Molecular and Cellular Biology

Tom Kelleher, Graduate School Associate Dean for Academic Affairs

Open Discussion from Senate Floor - Three-minute limit per speaker.

- 1) University of Florida Faculty Senators
- 2) University of Florida Faculty
- See Chair's Report.

Adjournment

- The meeting adjourned at 5:00 p.m.

Attending *Senators*

Holly Abeels Michael Aherne

Christopher James Anthony

Haldun Aytug Katie Basinger Marguerite Beckford Lauren Berkow Sally Bethart Mario Binelli

Jeremiah J. Blanchard

Sarah Brunnig
Brett Bultemeier
Michael Bumbach
Megan Butala
Andrea Caloiaro
Rachel Carrico
Michael A. Carrillo
Nico Cellinese
Jinghua Chen

Konstantina
Christodoulopoulou
Cynda Crawford
Tamara Lee Cushing
Santanu K. Datta
Michael K. Davis
Matthew Decker

Luisa (Amelia) Dempere

David Deremer William P. Dishong

Eric Jing Du
James Essegbey
Gayle Nelson Evans
Jeanne Ewert

Sara Moscovita Falzarano

Michael Feely Breann Garbas Frank Gibson Vivian E. Gonsalves Marshall Haning Robert L. Hatch Selman Hershfield Amie Hoefnagel Carolyn Holland

Hélène Huet Jill Ingram Raymond Issa Samantha Kennedy

John Kraft
Yu Hao Lee
Mengyu Li
Zhigang Li
Qing Lu
Charlene Luke
Kiran Lukose
Sarah Lynne
Diba Mani

A. Corinne Manley
Willm Martens-Habbena

Charles Mitchell Don Monk Judi Shade Monk John K. Neubert Cuong Nguyen Juan Nino

Dennis 'Calvin' Odero

Monika Oli

Silvana Paula-Moraes

Jorg Peters Czerne Reid

Bruno De Souza Ribeiro Jemmie Robertson David Gaddis Ross Peter Sayeski Megan Sheridan Sudeep S. Sidhu Hugh A. Smith Benjamin Smith

Matthew C. Smith

Ruth Steiner

Svetlana Stepchenkova Adam Wayne Stern Ian D. Storch

Saundra TenBroeck
David Therriault
Cyntrice Thomas
R. James Toussaint
Hannah Vander Zanden

Jason von Meding Nathalie A. Wall Nian Wang

Houston A. Wells Bruce Welt Sarah Wolking Stefanie Wulff Ying Xiao

Liaisons
Scott Angle
Chris Hass
Tom Kelleher
Angela Lindner
Joseph W. Little
David Norton
Walter O'Dell
Amanda Phalin
Richard Scholtz
Marta Wayne
James Wegmann

Student Senators Kevin G. Senior

Guests
Chris Janelle
Chenglong Li
Jiangeng Xue