

Faculty Senate Meeting Minutes April 20, 2023 3:00 p.m.

Reitz Union Chamber, Ground Floor

 $\underline{https://mediasite.video.ufl.edu/Mediasite/Channel/8456cbab10b449868436ee51ddb84d} c45f/watch/208a268357564da7b5bb35fefa54ad9d1d$

Call to order & Approval of March 23, 2023 Minutes

Amanda Phalin, Chair

- The meeting was called to order at 3:00 p.m. by Faculty Senate Chair Amanda Phalin.
- The minutes were approved.

Reports

Chair's Report

Amanda Phalin, Chair

- Chair Phalin presented the Chair's Report slides; referenced her April 3 email update to faculty; provided a language review of SB 264 and HB 1355 and discussed why it is not impacting UF international faculty and students; and discussed 2023 Gator Day advocacy and activities in Tallahassee.

President's Report

Ben Sasse, President

- President Sasse answered inquiries and presented an update from his first nine weeks as UF President.

• Provost's Report

Joe Glover, Provost

- The search for the Interim Dean of the Levin College of Law is proceeding and the search for the Dean will likely not commence until the fall. The Herbert Wertheim College of Engineering Dean search will resume again following consultation with the search firm in May. A search committee will re-engage again in the fall.

Action Items:

2023-2024 Faculty Senate Chair-Elect Election

View the <u>candidates' qualifications and goals video and text statements</u> (*listed alphabetically*)

- o Sarah D. Lynne, Associate Professor, Department of Family, Youth and Community Sciences, IFAS/University of Florida (Video)
- o Juan Claudio Nino, Professor, Department of Materials Science and Engineering, Herbert Wertheim College of Engineering (Video)
- Sarah Lynne was elected 2023-2024 Faculty Senate Chair-Elect.

Graduate Council

Tom Kelleher, Graduate School Associate Dean for Academic Affairs

- Close Master of Engineering with Major in: Aerospace Engineering

Mechanical Engineering

- This approved closure was submitted by the Herbert Wertheim College of Engineering to close just the Master of Engineering degrees and not to be confused with the Master of Science degrees.
- Both items were approved.

Information Items:

Provost Qualities Resolution

Richard Scholtz, Chair, Academic Policy Council (APC)

- Chair Phalin presented this resolution, on behalf of the APC, outlining critical qualifications faculty would like to be considered in the search for UF's next Provost.
- A motion to move this item to action (requiring a 2/3 vote) carried.
- The resolution carried.

University Athletics & Academics

Scott Stricklin, University Athletic Director

- UAD Stricklin presented an update on UF Athletics and overviews of student-athlete academics, including NCAA and SEC statistics, national rankings, and student-athlete community service, internships, investments, and program enhancements.

Multi-Year Contracts Resolution

Sean Trainor, Chair, Compensation &

(final) (w. tracked changes)

Equity Committee

- Dr. Trainor guided Faculty Senate through each of the revisions made to this resolution (via a track and changes text). It was originally presented in 2021 for faculty discussion and feedback. Changes reflect these committee, campus-wide faculty, and leadership conversations, and resolution vetting.
- Dr. Trainor answered inquiries pertaining to the implementation of the policy at the college, unit, and university levels and clarified that the current CBA allows for multi-year contacts.
- Following inquiries, and the presentation of the <u>final</u>, <u>updated resolution</u> and the <u>resolution</u>'s <u>track</u> <u>and changes</u>, a motion to move this item to action (requiring a 2/3 vote) carried.
- The resolution carried.

University Curriculum Committee

Angela Lindner, Associate Provost for Undergraduate Affairs

College of Journalism and Communications Decrease in Total Credit Hours:

B.S. Media Production, Management, and Technology Specializations:

- Digital Film and Television Production Specialization (#17889)
- Management and Strategy Specialization (#18148)
- Media and Society Specialization (#18149)

B.S. Journalism General Journalism and Sports Media Specializations (#18058)

B.S. Advertising Specializations:

- Persuasive Messaging Specialization (#18184)
- Advertising Agency Specialization (#18185)

B.S. Public Relations (#18094)

- Reduction in credit hours is sought for these proposals from the College of Journalism and Communications and the UCC to meet accreditation needs.

College of Agricultural and Life Sciences:

Name Change of the B.S. Soil and Water Sciences Major (#18077)

- CALS and the UCC propose this name change to better align the major and department names to increase clarity and representation.

University Constitution & Regulations Committee Charlene Luke, Chair, UCRC (UCRC) Report

- Bylaw Amendments: Professional Curriculum Committee (PCC)
- <u>Senate Electronic Voting SOP</u> / <u>Faculty Senate Bylaws</u> Amanda Phalin, Chair <u>Voting Amendments</u>
- UCRC Chair Luke presented the <u>proposed amendments to Bylaws 20 and 22</u>, which codify the previously approved PCC and clarifies the three university-wide curriculum approval channels (i.e. the PCC, Graduate Council, and the UCC.)
- Chair Phalin and Faculty Senate Chair-elect Wright answered <u>Senate Electronic Voting SOP</u> / <u>Faculty Senate Bylaws</u> inquiries, shared comments, and asked Faculty Senators to give thoughtful and due consideration to the question of whether to change the Faculty Senate meetings to hybrid mode and, accordingly, require electronic-only voting at Faculty Senate meetings. The changes needed to do so are included in Bylaw 4 proposed amendments and the SOP establishing the ground rules, policies, and procedures for this new voting and meeting mode.

Open Discussion from Senate Floor - Three-minute limit per speaker.

- 1) University of Florida Faculty Senators
 - There was no discussion from University of Florida Faculty Senators.
- 2) University of Florida Faculty
 - There was no discussion from University of Florida Faculty.

Adjournment

- The meeting adjourned at 4:56 p.m.

Attending

Senators
Holly Abeels
Luis Alvarez-Castro
Angela Bacsik
Katie Basinger
Lauren Berkow
Sally Bethart
Mario Binelli
Jeremiah Blanchard

Michael Bumbach

Megan Butala
Andrea Caloiaro
Rachel Carrico
Teresa Cavanaugh
Nico Cellinese
Jinghua Chen
Konstantina

Christodoulopoulou Mayra Cordero Maddy Coy Megan Daly

Margarete Ribeiro Dasilva

Santanu Datta Paul Davenport

Luisa (Amelia) Dempere Thomas Denagamage Richard B. Dickinson William P. Dishong Randell Doty

Petra E. Duran-Gehring

Guy El Helou

James Essegbey

Michael Feely Breann Garbas Jamie Garner

Laurie Gauger

Frank Gibson

Vivian Gonsalves

Reetu Grewal Liwei Gu Barry Hartz Selman Hershfield Amie Hoefnagel Flora Iff-Noel

Sarah Rajkumari Jayasekaran

Frederick 'Rick' Kates

Valeria Kleiman

McKenzie Landrum

Yu Hao Lee Zhigang Li Charlene Luke Sarah Lynne Lucas Majure Diba Mani Crystal Marull Anne Mathews

John A. Mendoza-Garcia

Carey Minteer
Charles Mitchell
Christine T. Myers
Cuong Nguyen
Dannis 'Calvin' Odoro

Dennis 'Calvin' Odero

Madan Oli Monika Oli Jorg Peters Ana Puig Czerne Reid Mary Risner

David Gaddis Ross Eleonora Rossi Judi Schack-Dugre Megan Sheridan Hugh A. Smith Matthew C. Smith Stephen Smith Peter Sprowls Ruth Steiner

Svetlana Stepchenkova

Richard Stepp

Imanol Suarez-Palma Melanie G. Taylor Saundra TenBroeck

Vilma Torres

Hannah Vander Zanden

Nathalie Wall Nian Wang Houston A. Wells Gene Witmer Sarah Wolking Stefanie Wulff Alexander York

Liaisons

David C. Bloom

Joe Glover
Raymond Issa
Tom Kelleher
Joseph W. Little
Steve Orlando
Keith Rambo
Ben Sasse
Sean Trainor
Danaya Wright

Student Senators Riya Chakraborty Ethan Ghozali Paul Wassel Alex Wong

Guests

Verlissa Ford Ellie O'Connor Walter O'Dell Scott Stricklin

Jonathan C. Stephens