

Faculty Senate Meeting Minutes Tuesday, December 6, 2022 - 3:00 p.m. Reitz Union Auditorium, 2nd Floor

 $\underline{https://mediasite.video.ufl.edu/Mediasite/Channel/8456cbab10b449868436ee51ddb84dc45f/watch/b8ad1308820945aea4b6590ae9b87b7d1db84dc45f/watch/b8ad1308820945aea4b6590ae9b87b7d1db84dc45f/watch/b8ad1308820945aea4b6590ae9b87b7d1db84dc45f/watch/b8ad1308820945aea4b6590ae9b87b7d1db84dc45f/watch/b8ad1308820945aea4b6590ae9b87b7d1db84dc45f/watch/b8ad1308820945aea4b6590ae9b87b7d1db84dc45f/watch/b8ad1308820945aea4b6590ae9b87b7d1db84dc45f/watch/b8ad1308820945aea4b6590ae9b87b7d1db84dc45f/watch/b8ad1308820945aea4b6590ae9b87b7d1db84dc45f/watch/b8ad1308820945aea4b6590ae9b87b7d1db84dc45f/watch/b8ad1308820945aea4b6590ae9b87b7d1db84dc45f/watch/b8ad1308820945aea4b6590ae9b87b7d1db84dc45f/watch/b8ad1308820945aea4b6590ae9b87b7d1db84dc45f/watch/b8ad1308820945aea4b6590ae9b87b7d1db84dc45f/watch/b8ad1308820945aea4b6590ae9b87b7d1db84dc45f/watch/b8ad1308820945aea4b6590ae9b87b7d1db84dc45f/watch/b8ad1308820945aea4b6590ae9b87b7d1db84dc45f/watch/b8ad1308820945aea4b6590ae9b87b7d1db84de4b86dc45f/watch/b8ad1308820945aea4b6590ae9b87b7d1db84de4b86dc45f/watch/b8ad1308820945aea4b66de4b86de4$

Call to order &

Amanda Phalin, Chair

Approval of November 17, 2022 Minutes

- The meeting was called to order at 3:00 p.m. by Faculty Senate Chair Amanda Phalin.
- The minutes were approved.

Reports

• Chair's Report

Amanda Phalin, Chair

- Chair Phalin presented the Chair's Report slides.

• Provost's Report

Joe Glover, Provost

- The educational proposal for the West Palm Beach site will be presented to the Board of Trustees (BOT) at this week's meeting. This new UF campus will initially involve three colleges presenting academic programs: Levin College of Law, Herbert Wertheim College of Engineering and the Warrington College of Business. The Board of Governors (BOG) will review the proposal in January, and it will then be sent to the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools (SACS) for accreditation approval.

Information Items:

Resolution on Post-Tenure Review Regulation

Amanda Phalin, Chair

- The Resolution on Post-Tenure Review Regulation from the Academic Policy Council and Steering Committee recommends that the Board of Governors (BOG) make four specific changes before adopting its 10.003, Post-Tenure Faculty Review regulation. The BOG regulations have been written as a result of SB-7044, which the Florida legislature passed last spring. The law reduces the current seven-year post-tenure review cycle to five years, among other changes. Modifications to preserve and support tenure, academic freedom, and due process are proposed in this resolution by Faculty Senate committee and council members and leadership. Chair Phalin clarified that if this resolution passes, it will be combined with resolutions passed by Faculty Senates at Florida's 11 State University System (SUS) institutions and presented to the BOG by the Advisory Council of Faculty Senates (ACFS).
- Discussion on this Information Item was held per the affirmation of at least ten Faculty Senators.
- Following discussion, a motion to move this Information Item to an Action Item passed with the required 2/3 vote.
- (View <u>webcast</u> from 26:27 to 1:32:48): Motions to consider amendments from the floor proposed by Senator Gene Witmer (CLAS) and Faculty Senate Steering Committee member and Academic Policy Council Chair Richard Scholtz carried. Discussion was held and Chair Phalin, Provost Glover, and Associate Provost for Academic and Faculty Affairs Chris Hass assisted in answering inquires.

- Following discussion, a motion to approve the final amended resolution carried.

<u>Introduction of Dean and Associate Provost</u> for UF International Center

Marta Wayne, Dean and Associate Provost for UF International Center

- Dean Wayne introduced herself and shared resources which are available from the UF International Center. She answered inquiries on best practices in working with international students and the international environment.

University Constitution & Regulations Committee (UCRC) Report (ACFS Changes Proposal)

Charlene Luke, UCRC Chair

- This proposal to the Faculty Senate Bylaws amends the duties of the Faculty Senate Chair-elect and Past Chair by moving the voting membership for the ACFS from the Chair-elect to the Past Chair. The proposal to amend the (one word) verbiage in Article V, Section 2 of the University of Florida Constitution is suggested to align the document more closely with current practice.

Graduate Council

Angela Lindner, Associate Provost

- MS with a Major in Urban Analytics New Degree for Undergraduate Affairs

- Dr. Lindner presented this item on behalf of Graduate School Associate Dean for Academic Affairs Tom Kelleher. The College of Design, Construction and Planning seeks to create a new interdisciplinary MS with a major in Urban Analytics degree program in the Department of Urban and Regional Planning that is supported by the Department of Computer and Information Science and Engineering (CISE) and the Department of Electric and Computer Engineering (ECE). The proposed 36-credit, two-year degree program strongly aligns with UF's strategic investment in AI.

Open Discussion from Senate Floor - Three-minute limit per speaker.

- 1) University of Florida Faculty Senators
 - There was no discussion from University of Florida Faculty Senators.
- 2) University of Florida Faculty
 - There was no discussion from University of Florida Faculty.

Adjournment

- The meeting adjourned at 4:45 p.m.

Attending

Senators Jose Abisambra

Luis Alvarez-Castro Haldun Aytug

Angela Bacsik
Katie Basinger
Donald Behringer
Lauren Berkow
Mario Binelli

Jeremiah Blanchard Michael Bumbach Megan Butala Mayra Cordero Cynda Crawford Megan Daly

Margarete Ribeiro Dasilva Luisa (Amelia) Dempere Thomas Denagamage

Randell Doty Guy El Helou James Essegbey Sara M. Falzarano Michael Feely

Frank Gibson Vivian Gonsalves

Liwei Gu

Barry Hartz Robert L. Hatch Selman Hershfield

Sarah Rajkumari Jayasekaran

Valeria Kleiman
Jaclyn Kropp
Ji-Hyun Lee
Zhigang Li
Charlene Luke
Sarah Lynne
Lucas Majure
A. Corinne Manley
Crystal Marull
Anne Mathews

John A. Mendoza-Garcia Charles Mitchell

Christine T. Myers John Neubert Juan Nino

Dennis 'Calvin' Odero

Monika Oli Jorg Peters Ana Puig Czerne Reid Esther Romeyn

David Gaddis Ross Judi Schack-Dugre Megan Sheridan Matthew C. Smith Svetlana Stepchenkova

Catherine Striley Imanol Suarez-Palma David Therriault Anastasia Ulanowicz Hannah Vander Zanden

Houston A. Wells Gene Witmer Sarah Wolking

Liaisons
Joe Glover
Chris Hass
Joseph W. Little
Keith Rambo
Richard Scholtz
Marta L. Wayne
Danaya Wright

Student Senators

Guests Meg Portillo