

Faculty Senate Meeting Minutes November 17, 2022 - 3:00 p.m.

Reitz Union, Chamber Room, Ground Floor

 ${\tt https://mediasite.video.ufl.edu/Mediasite/Channel/8456cbab10b449868436ee51ddb84dc45f/watch/11c1633741c345d1893d06d94c9172ef1db84dc45f/watch/11c1633741c345d1893d06d94c9172ef1db84dc45f/watch/11c1633741c345d1893d06d94c9172ef1db84dc45f/watch/11c1633741c345d1893d06d94c9172ef1db84dc45f/watch/11c1633741c345d1893d06d94c9172ef1db84dc45f/watch/11c1633741c345d1893d06d94c9172ef1db84dc45f/watch/11c1633741c345d1893d06d94c9172ef1db84dc45f/watch/11c1633741c345d1893d06d94c9172ef1db84dc45f/watch/11c1633741c345d1893d06d94c9172ef1db84dc45f/watch/11c1633741c345d1893d06d94c9172ef1db84dc45f/watch/11c1633741c345d1893d06d94c9172ef1db84dc45f/watch/11c1633741c345d1893d06d94c9172ef1db84dc45f/watch/11c1633741c345d1893d06d94c9172ef1db84dc45f/watch/11c1633741c345d1893d06d94c9172ef1db84dc45f/watch/11c1633741c345d1893d06d94c9172ef1db84dc45f/watch/11c1633741c345d1893d06d94c9172ef1db84dc45f/watch/11c1633741c345d1893d06d94c9172ef1db84dc45f/watch/11c1633741c345d1893d06d94c9172ef1db84dc45f/watch/11c1633741c345d1893d06d94c9172ef1db84dc45f/watch/11c163374d1893d06d94c9172ef1db84d06d94c9172ef1db84d06d94c9172ef1db84d06d94c9172ef1db84d06d94d98d06d94d98d06d94d06d94d98d06d94$

Call to order &

Amanda Phalin, Chair

Approval of October 20, 2022 Minutes &

October 27, 2022 Emergency Meeting Minutes

- The meeting was called to order at 3:00 p.m. by Faculty Senate Chair Amanda Phalin.
- The October 20, 2022 minutes were approved as amended.
- The October 27, 2022 Emergency Meeting Minutes were approved.

Reports

Chair's Report

Amanda Phalin, Chair

- Chair Phalin presented Chair's Report slides.

• Provost's Report

Joe Glover, Provost

- The Provost provided an update on <u>HB7</u>. Today U.S. District Judge Mark E. Walker ordered a temporary injunction against portions of the act. This ruling enjoins the Board of Governors (BOG) from implementing or enforcing the prohibitions in HB7. The UF General Counsel's Office is analyzing the ruling's impact and its likely appeal. Because the order has not been stayed, and is therefore immediately applicable, UF is suspending the implementation of the investigation procedure formulated to conform with the HB7 requirements as it was prescribed in the BOG regulations. The Provost will continue to communicate any updates on this fluid topic.

Action Items:

Graduate Council

Tom Kelleher, Graduate School

- <u>Close M.Ed. with a Major in Mathematics Education</u>
 Assoc
- Associate Dean for Academic Affairs
- This is a proposal from the College of Education to close the Master of Education with a major in Mathematics Education. There have been no admitted or graduated students from this degree in four years.
- This item was approved.
- Modify the curriculum for the MS with a major in Medical Sciences & a concentration in Gerontology
- The College of Medicine seeks to modify the curriculum, from 36 to 30 credits, for the Master of Science with a major in Medical Sciences and a concentration in Gerontology.
- This item was approved.
- Create the Graduate Degree Master of Science in Business Analytics
- This is a proposal from the Warrington College of Business to create the graduate degree Master of Science in Business Analytics, which will be a 36 credit Master degree.
- This item was approved.

Information Items:

Intercollegiate Athletics Committee (IAC) Report

Christopher M. Janelle, Professor, Applied Physiology & Kinesiology and UF SEC & NCAA Faculty Athletics Representative

- Professor Janelle, the UF SEC & NCAA Faculty Athletics Representative, presented the annual Intercollegiate Athletics Committee (IAC) Report to Faculty Senate and provided an overview of: the role of the IAC; current topics in intercollegiate athletics; future topics and issues of interest to UF; and current academic metrics.

No Confidence Vote in Chair Phalin

Valeria Kleiman, Professor & Faculty Senator (CLAS) Breann Garbas, Clinical Assistant Professor & Faculty Senator (MED)

- Chair Phalin ceded the chairmanship to facilitate this Information Item to Faculty Senate Chair-elect Danaya Wright.
- Chair-elect Wright provided an overview of how and why this item came to the floor of the Senate today.
- Discussion on this Information Item was held per the affirmation of at least ten Faculty Senators.
- Faculty Senators Kleiman and Garbas presented the no confidence proposal and clarified its authorship and the context of its (lack of formal) presentation at the November 3, 2022 Faculty Senate Steering Committee when it was approved for addition to today's Senate agenda. *Note: The Faculty Senate Steering Committee approves each month's Faculty Senate agenda at its monthly meeting.*
- A motion to move this Information Item to an Action Item carried via the required 2/3 vote.
- Following discussion on the merits of and the objections to the proposal, and responses from Chair Phalin, the no confidence vote in Chair Phalin failed, with 12 on-site and 1 off-site of the 103 Faculty Senators present voting in favor.

Open Discussion from Senate Floor - Three-minute limit per speaker.

- 1) University of Florida Faculty Senators
 - There was no discussion from University of Florida Faculty Senators.
- 2) University of Florida Faculty
 - There was no discussion from University of Florida Faculty.

Adjournment

- The meeting adjourned at 4:36 p.m.

Attending
Senators
Holly Abeels
Jose Abisambra
Luis Alvarez-Castro
Haldun Aytug
Angela Bacsik

Ludmila Veloso Barbosa De Faria

Donald Behringer
Lauren Berkow
Jeremiah Blanchard
Michael Bumbach
Megan Butala
Andrea Caloiaro
Rachel Carrico
Teresa Cavanaugh
Nico Cellinese
Jinghua Chen

Konstantina Christodoulopoulou

Maddy Coy Cynda Crawford Megan Daly Santanu Datta Paul Davenport Michael K. Davis

Luisa (Amelia) Dempere

Yousong Ding William P. Dishong Randell Doty

Petra E. Duran-Gehring

Guy El Helou James Essegbey Sara M. Falzarano Michael Feely

Monica A. Fernandez

Jamie Foster
Klibs Galvao
Breann Garbas
Jamie Garner
Frank Gibson
Vivian Gonsalves
Reetu Grewal
Barry Hartz
Robert L. Hatch

Selman Hershfield Amie Hoefnagel Hélène Huet

Robert W. Huigens, III

Frederick 'Rick' Kates

Flora Iff-Noel Sobha Jaishankar

Sarah Rajkumari Jayasekaran

Samantha Kennedy Valeria Kleiman John Kraft Sujata Krishna Jaclyn Kropp McKenzie Landrum

Zhigang Li Keya Locke Maureen Long Charlene Luke Sarah Lynne Lucas Majure

Alexandra Mannix Anne Mathews Mindy McAdams

John A. Mendoza-Garcia

Carey Minteer
Charles Mitchell
Walter Lee Murfee
Christine T. Myers
Cuong Nguyen
Madan Oli
Monika Oli
Jorg Peters
Ana Puig

Heidi Radunovich Christopher Robinson Esther Romeyn

David Gaddis Ross Eleonora Rossi Lorenzo Rossi Ajay Sharma Megan Sheridan Hugh A. Smith Matthew C. Smith Stephen Smith Ravi Srinivasan Ruth Steiner

Svetlana Stepchenkova Catherine Striley Imanol Suarez-Palma Saundra TenBroeck

Vilma Torres Steve Tufts

Hannah Vander Zanden Wagner Vendrame Nathalie Wall Nian Wang

Houston A. Wells Karen Whalen Stefanie Wulff Alexander York Jennifer Zedalis

Liaisons

David C. Bloom Joe Glover Tom Kelleher Joseph W. Little Keith Rambo Richard Scholtz Nicole Stedman Danaya Wright

Student Senators
Sadie Carey
Emma Carlson
Riya Chakraborty
Jonathan Gould
Laura Thomas
Anthony Valenzuela

Paul Wassel

Guests Chris Janelle Timothy Murtha Walter O'Dell