

Faculty Senate Meeting Minutes August 25, 2022 - 3:00 p.m.

Reitz Union Rion Ballroom - East

https://mediasite.video.ufl.edu/Mediasite/Channel/8456cbab10b449868436ee51ddb84dc45f/watch/8299778928c2427d9809e397ec3537f61d

Welcome

Amanda Phalin, Chair

W. Kent Fuchs, President

Amanda Phalin, Chair

Morteza 'Mori' Hosseini, UF BOT Chair

- The meeting was called to order at 3:00 p.m. by Faculty Senate Chair Amanda Phalin, who welcomed Senators and guests.

State of the University Address

University of Florida

- President Fuchs presented the 2022 State of the University Address.

BOT Chair Introduction

Faculty Senate Chair Amanda Phalin introduced UF Board of Trustees (BOT) Chair Mori Hosseini.

UF Board of Trustees (BOT) Report

- BOT Chair Hosseini presented a UF Board of Trustees (BOT) Report and answered inquiries from the faculty. Faculty Senate Chair Phalin also clarified that prior to the meeting, the questions were submitted to the Chair, reviewed, condensed, and provided to Chair Hosseini, who agreed to answer all submitted faculty inquiries and who was not given an opportunity to select or edit any faculty inquiries being addressed at today's meeting.

Chair's Report

- Faculty Senate Chair Phalin discussed priorities for this academic year and presented the Faculty Senate Chair's Report.

Action Items:

Approval of May 5, 2022 Minutes

- The minutes were approved.

Information Items:

Chief Diversity Officer (CDO) Updates

Marsha McGriff, Chief Diversity Officer & Senior Adviser to the President

- CDO McGriff answered inquiries and reviewed key components of the three-year plan devoted to reviewing and assessing the UF landscape and its inclusivity and diversity. UF has partnered with Dr. Damon Williams' Center for Strategic Diversity Leadership and Social Innovation to produce a comprehensive inventory of the university's DEI efforts that will result in an insight-to-action strategic DEI inventory report. This work will be culminating this fall. Affinity group leaders are engaging in individual listening sessions. The inclusive excellence blueprint for UF will be shared on the CDO Office website. Two events will be held on October 17 – 18: a Celebration of Inclusive Excellence at UF and a Building Inclusive Excellence Fall Retreat.

Amanda Phalin, Chair

Amanda Phalin, Chair

1 | Page

Multi-Year Contracts

Sean Trainor, Chair, Compensation & Equity Committee

- Dr. Trainor answered inquiries and provided an overview of the Compensation & Equity Committee's proposed resolution to adopt rolling three-year contracts as the default contract structure for all non-tenure track faculty. It will not be moved to an Action Item next month to allow an extended communication period with faculty and colleges, including Deans and Department Chairs, who are responsible for employment decision-making. A change to such a faculty employment situation must also be bargained with and ultimately approved by the Collective Bargaining Agreement (CBA).

Graduate Council

Tom Kelleher, Graduate School

<u>Master of Preventive Veterinary Medicine New Degree</u> Associate Dean for Academic Affairs
This proposal from the College of Veterinary Medicine, approved by the Graduate Council, seeks to create a new degree focusing on a traditional non-residence program to prepare veterinarians for management and research of diseases in livestock, poultry, and wildlife populations.

- Master of Construction Management Modification

-- This proposal seeks to reduce credit for this master's degree from 36 to 30 credits to make it consistent with similar master's degree programs.

- Master of Science (Non-Thesis) Degree with a Major in Interdisciplinary Ecology Modification

- Master of Science (Thesis) Degree with a Major in Interdisciplinary Ecology Modification

-- These two proposals seek to reduce credit for these master's degrees from 38 to 30 credits and are designed to meet the same student learning outcome.

Open Discussion from Senate Floor - *Three-minute limit per speaker.*

- 1) University of Florida Faculty Senators
 - There was no discussion from the Senate floor by University of Florida Faculty Senators.
- 2) University of Florida Faculty
 - There was no discussion from the Senate floor by university faculty.

Adjournment

- The meeting adjourned at 4:54 p.m. and a reception, sponsored by Curtis Reynolds, VP, Business Affairs and Faculty Senate, immediately followed in Rion Ballroom – West.

Attending Senators Holly Abeels Jose Abisambra Luis Alvarez-Castro Haldun Aytug Angela Bacsik **Imre Bartos** Katie Basinger Norman Beatty Matt Benge Lauren Berkow Sally Bethart Mario Binelli Jeremiah Blanchard Michael Bumbach Megan Butala Andrea Caloiaro **Rachel Carrico** Nico Cellinese Jinghua Chen Konstantina Christodoulopoulou Mayra Cordero Cynda Crawford Megan Daly Santanu Datta Paul Davenport Michael K. Davis Luisa (Amelia) Dempere Thomas Denagamage **Richard B. Dickinson** William P. Dishong Randell Doty Lili Du Duran Gehring, Petra Guy El Helou James Essegbey Sara M. Falzarano Michael Feely David A. Foster Jamie S. Foster Klibs Galvao Breann Garbas Jamie Garner Laurie Gauger Frank Gibson Vivian Gonsalves **Reetu Grewal**

Liwei Gu Robert L. Hatch Selman Hershfield Amie Hoefnagel Hélène Huet Robert W. Huigens, III Flora Iff-Noel Sobha Jaishankar Sarah Rajkumari Jayasekaran Frederick 'Rick' Kates Samantha Kennedy Marcus Kirk Valeria Kleiman John Kraft Sujata Krishna Jaclyn Kropp McKenzie Landrum Ji-Hyun Lee Maureen Long Charlene Luke Kiran Lukose Lucas Maiure Diba Mani Katherine Marin Crystal Marull Anne Mathews John A. Mendoza-Garcia **Carey Minteer** Charles Mitchell Marjorie Montanez-Wiscovich Walter Lee Murfee Christine T. Myers John Neubert Cuong Nguyen Juan Nino Monika Oli Jorg Peters Heidi Radunovich Czerne Reid Mary Risner Albert Ritzhaupt Jemmie Robertson Christopher Robinson Esther Romeyn David Gaddis Ross Eleonora Rossi Judi Schack-Dugre Matthew C. Smith **Stephen Smith**

Ruth Steiner Svetlana Stepchenkova **Richard Stepp Catherine Striley** Imanol Suarez-Palma David Therriault Vilma Torres Steve Tufts Anastasia Ulanowicz Hannah Vander Zanden Nian Wang Houston A. Wells Tony S. Wen Karen Whalen Gene Witmer Sarah Wolking Stefanie Wulff Alexander York Jennifer Zedalis Liaisons David C. Bloom Hub Brown Melissa Curry Kent Fuchs Joe Glover Mark Kaplan **Tom Kelleher** Colleen Koch Charles Lane Joseph W. Little Marsha McGriff Saby Mitra Steve Orlando **Taylor Rose** Nicole Stedman Sean Trainor **Beth Virnig** Heather White Danaya Wright Student Senators Sadie Carey Riya Chakraborty Ethan Ghozali Jonathan J. Gould

Laura Thomas

Paul Wassel

Anthony Valenzuela

Alex Wong

Guests Mary Kay Carodine Carolyne St. Louis Jessica Jean Stonecipher Judy Traveis Monica Webb