

Faculty Senate Meeting Agenda April 20, 2023 3:00 - 5:00 p.m. Reitz Union Chamber, Ground Floor

Call to order & Approval of March 23, 2023 Minutes Amanda Phalin, Chair

Reports

Chair's Report
 President's Report
 Provost's Report
 Amanda Phalin, Chair
 Ben Sasse, President
 Joe Glover, Provost

Action Items:

2023-2024 Faculty Senate Chair-Elect Election

View the <u>candidates' qualifications and goals video and text statements</u> (listed alphabetically)

- <u>Sarah D. Lynne</u>, Associate Professor, Department of Family, Youth and Community Sciences, IFAS/University of Florida (Video)
- Juan Claudio Nino, Professor, Department of Materials Science and Engineering, Herbert Wertheim College of Engineering (<u>Video</u>)

Graduate Council Tom Kelleher, Graduate School

- Close Master of Engineering with Major in: Associate Dean for Academic Affairs

Aerospace Engineering Mechanical Engineering

Information Items:

<u>Provost Qualities Resolution</u>

Richard Scholtz, Chair, Academic Policy

Council

University Athletics & Academics Scott Stricklin, University Athletic Director

Multi-Year Contracts Resolution Sean Trainor, Chair, Compensation &

(final) (w. tracked changes) Equity Committee

University Curriculum Committee Angela Lindner, Associate Provost

for Undergraduate Affairs

College of Journalism and Communications Decrease in Total Credit Hours:

B.S. Media Production, Management, and Technology Specializations:

- <u>Digital Film and Television Production Specialization (#17889)</u>
- Management and Strategy Specialization (#18148)

Media and Society Specialization (#18149)

B.S. Journalism General Journalism and Sports Media Specializations (#18058)

B.S. Advertising Specializations:

- Persuasive Messaging Specialization (#18184)
- Advertising Agency Specialization (#18185)

B.S. Public Relations (#18094)

College of Agricultural and Life Sciences:

Name Change of the B.S. Soil and Water Sciences Major (#18077)

University Constitution & Regulations Committee (UCRC) Report

Charlene Luke, Chair, UCRC

- Bylaw Amendments: Professional Curriculum Committee
- <u>Senate Electronic Voting SOP</u> / <u>Faculty Senate Bylaws</u> Amanda Phalin, Chair <u>Voting Amendments</u>

Open Discussion from Senate Floor - Three-minute limit per speaker.

- 1) University of Florida Faculty Senators
- 2) University of Florida Faculty

Adjournment