

Faculty Senate Meeting Minutes August 26, 2021 - 3:00 p.m. Reitz Union Rion Ballroom - East

https://mediasite.video.ufl.edu/Mediasite/Play/4306d9fa932c44b2a80425c9a3568e4b1d?catalog=8456cbab10b449868436ee51ddb84dc421

Call to Order & Welcome

David C. Bloom, Chair

-The meeting was called to order at 3:00 p.m. by Faculty Senate Chair David C. Bloom, who welcomed Senators and guests.

State of the University Address

W. Kent Fuchs, President University of Florida

-President Fuchs presented the 2021 State of the University Address.

Chair's Report

David C. Bloom, Chair

- Chair Bloom welcomed faculty back to campus, recognized the challenging times, and discussed his goals to revisit shared governance by moving forward with processes which can strengthen and maximize faculty participation and voice. A primary goal is to amplify faculty voices with the administration and the Board of Trustees (BOT) and increase communication between the Faculty Senate, its committees and councils, and the Faculty Councils/Assemblies in each college. Continuing efforts will be made to enhance: Inclusivity, Diversity, Equity, and Accessibility (IDEA) initiatives; faculty quality of life issues, such as faculty leave and compensation; and the graduate student experience.
- Chair Bloom thanked panelists and participants of the August 19 'Fall 2021 Semester' Town Hall. The Webinar Q&A / Chat Responses are posted on the Faculty Senate's Town Halls web page and are navigable from the Faculty Senate home page.
- New Deans have been invited to visit Faculty Senate:
- -- September: Dean Nicole Stedman, Graduate School.
- -- November: Dean Dana Zimmel, College of Vet Med and Dean Hub Brown, College of Journalism & Communications.
- -- December: Dean Colleen Koch, College of Medicine.
- Nominations are open for Honorary Degrees and are due October 1. The <u>Call for Nominations Form</u> and additional details are available on the Honorary Degrees and Distinguished Awards Committee web page @: https://fora.aa.ufl.edu/FacultySenate/Committees/Honorary-Degrees-and-Distinguished-Awards-Committee.
- This year's five Distinguished Professors are:
 - o Almut G. Winterstein
 - o Mark Sherwood
 - o Julie K. Levy
 - Sanjay Ranka and
 - o W. Robert Knechel
- -These live-streamed and recorded lectures will follow a Senate meeting, as detailed @: https://fora.aa.ufl.edu/FacultySenate/Pages/Faculty-Senate/DistinguishedProfessorLectureSeries.
- Please join us at the reception immediately following Faculty Senate adjournment in the Rion

Ballroom – West. The reception is sponsored by Curtis Reynolds, VP, Business Affairs and Faculty Senate.

Action Items:

Approval of May 6, 2021 Minutes

David C. Bloom, Chair

-The minutes were approved.

University Curriculum Committee

Angela Lindner, Associate Provost

New Early Childhood Education BAE Degree: Undergraduate Affairs

- The UF College of Education proposes to establish a new degree program: Bachelor of Arts in Education, Early Childhood Education major.
- This item was approved.
- Close IDS Major Middle Eastern Languages and Cultures
- This is a request to close the IDS Major Middle Eastern Languages and Cultures, with both its tracks. Students have not been enrolled in this major for quite some time, and it has been superseded by two other majors: International Studies and Foreign Languages & Literatures (Arabic and Hebrew Specializations).
- This item was approved.

Graduate Council

Paul Duncan, Sr. Associate Dean

- <u>New Master of Integrated Sustainable Development</u> (MISD) Degree

Graduate School

- This is a request from the College of Design, Construction and Planning to offer a new Master of Integrated Sustainable Development (MISD) Degree.
- This item was approved.

Information Items:

COVID Update

Michael Lauzardo, Director

UF Health Screen, Test & Protect

- Dr. Lauzardo answered inquiries and discussed with Faculty Senate: the on-campus strategy for the Screen, Test & Protect (STP) program; tools being utilized to protect faculty and the community, including the push for vaccinations and use of N95 masks; the Delta variant; the vaccine booster; and ICU and quarantine community updates.

<u>Resolution Calling for Requirement of Safety Measures</u> **David C. Bloom**, Chair to Protect our Campus from COVID-19

- Chair Bloom provided an overview of the resolution's evolution and how it is germane in addressing how the state of Florida functions, specifically the relationships between the Florida State University System (SUS), the legislature, and Florida's executive branch. This resolution was unanimously passed this month by all 12 universities in the Advisory Council of Faculty Senates (ACFS), an organization of SUS Faculty Senate Chairs. This resolution ultimately calls on the legislature to give the SUS room to operate safely in the COVID environment based on science and on local factors and decision-making.
- The resolution was moved from an Information Item to an Action Item by a successful 2/3 vote. The resolution was discussed and carried.

Graduate Council

Paul Duncan, Sr. Associate Dean

• MS in Applied Data Science

Graduate School

- The Graduate Council and Engineering Education Department propose a Master of Science with a major in Applied Data Science (MSADS) degree to provide students with a working knowledge of techniques and software commonly used in Data Science.

Open Discussion from Senate Floor - Three minute limit per speaker.

- 1) University of Florida Faculty Senators
 - Senator Blanchard commented on the importance of acting on behalf of, and fully representing the faculty as Senators, while appreciating both faculty who serve and the difficulties currently being faced by the university.
- 2) University of Florida Faculty
 - -There was no discussion from the Senate floor by university faculty.

Adjournment

-The meeting was adjourned at 4:06 p.m.

Attending Senators

Luis Alvarez-Castro Theresa Antes Haldun Aytug

Angela Bacsik

Ludmila Veloso Barbosa De Faria

Katie Basinger Sarah Beatty **Donald Behringer** Mario Binelli

Jeremiah J. Blanchard Helene Blondeau Stephanie Bogart Wesley Bolch Eleni Bozia

Teresa Cavanaugh Nico Cellinese

Xinguang "Jim" Chen

Konstantina Christodoulopoulou

Cynda Crawford Megan Daly Santanu K. Datta Yousong Ding

Sara Moscovita Falzarano Yuguang "Michael" Fang Monica A. Fernandez **Breann Garbas**

Kristina Garcia-Guettler

Jamie Garner John N. George Ashley Ghiaseddin Malay Ghosh Reetu Grewal Liwei Gu

Charles Haddad Rebecca Hanson Barry Hartz Dennis Hiltunen Amie Hoefnagel Helene Huet

Robert W. Huigens, III Frederick 'Rick' Kates

Marcus Kirk

John Kraft Sujata Krishna Jaclyn Kropp Jose Lemos

Shannon Rae Lowe Lucas Majure Diba Mani

A. Corinne Manley Crystal Marull Anne Mathews Tara Mathien Victoria Menzies **Carey Minteer** Francois Modave

Marjorie Montanez-Wiscovich

Kiran Motaparthi Walter Lee Murfee Timothy M. Murtha Christine T. Myers Walter O'Dell

Dennis 'Calvin' Odero

Madan Oli Monika Oli Jorg Peters Keith Rambo Czerne Reid

Margarete Ribeiro Dasilva

Mary Risner Albert D. Ritzhaupt Jemmie Robertson Hardey Sandhu Richard Scholtz Megan Sheridan Stephen Smith Matthew C. Smith Peter Sprowls

Ravi Srinivasan **Ruth Steiner** Richard Stepp **Catherine Striley** Andres Susaeta Saundra TenBroeck **David Therriault**

Stephanie Toelle Vilma Torres Apichai Tuanyok Wagner Vendrame Nathalie A. Wall Ratree Wayland Shawn Weatherford Houston A. Wells Karen Whalen Trent Williams, Jr. Gene Witmer Sarah Wolking Elizabeth Wood Erich Wyckoff

Liaisons Paul Duncan Glenn Good **Chris Hass** Colleen Koch Angela Lindner Michael Perri Taylor Rose Sean Trainor

Student Senators Kushi Alluri John Brinkman Micah Page Soha Ramadan Daniel C. Schultz Ryan L. Scott Alex Wong

Guests

Mayra Cordero Sylvain Doré Mark Hostetler Michael Lauzardo Mary Parker

Katie Vogel Anderson