## Chair's Report



www.senate.ufl.edu

## Welcome

University of Florida
Faculty Senators
to the
2015-2016 Year
Thank you for serving on the
Faculty Senate

## **Faculty Senate Steering Committee**

#### **Officers:**

- Paul Davenport, Chair, Vet Med
- Nicole Stedman, Chair-Elect, CALS

#### **Council Chairs:**

- ➤ James Seale, Budget
- Bradley Walters, Infrastructure
- Jorg Peters, Research & Scholarship
- Karen Whalen, Welfare
- Beverly Sanders, Academic Policy

#### Members at Large:

- Jeannine Brady, Dentistry
- Sylvain Doré, Medicine
- Margaret Temple-Smith, Law

#### **Liaisons:**

- > Kent Fuchs, President
- Joe Glover, Provost

#### Staff:

- Ana Spiguel, Parliamentarian
- Sue Alvers, Secretary

## Senate Organization

- ➤ The organization and operation of the Faculty Senate is specified in the UF Constitution and Bylaws
- http://generalcounsel.ufl.edu/media/generalcounselufledu/documents/Constitution.pdf
- http://generalcounsel.ufl.edu/media/generalcounselufledu/documents/Bylaws.pdf

#### **Senate Contacts**

Chair: Paul W. Davenport
<u>FacultySenateChair@ufl.edu</u>
(352) 392-9019

Senate Secretary: Sue Alvers salvers@ufl.edu (352) 392-9019

> Senate Office: 134 Tigert

# President Kent Fuchs' Inauguration

Julie Dodd, Faculty Senate Representative Inauguration Committee

#### Schedule of events

### **Inauguration ceremony**

- Friday, Dec. 4, 3 p.m.
- University Auditorium limited seating
- Reception afterwards open to all Reitz Union Atrium

## Events leading to inauguration

#### **College Open Houses or Activities**

- All colleges expected to participate
- Held between Saturday, Nov. 28 (UF vs. FSU football game), and Sunday, Dec. 6

# Sept. 4 – Deadline for colleges to submit plans for college activities and Campus Showcase

Inauguration Committee co-chairs

Michael Blachly

Donna Stricker

- Goal Setting Task Force Work Continues, Thank You for your feedback
- Barbara Wingo Retirement, 3:00 pm August 28,
   2015, Keene Faculty Center
- President Fuch's, State of the University Address,
  - 3:00 pm, September 24, 2015, Reitz Union

Auditorium