# Faculty Senate Meeting Minutes April 16, 2015 3:00 – 5:00 p.m. Reitz Union Auditorium

Paul Davenport, chair, called the meeting to order at 3:03 p.m. March 2015 minutes were approved.

# **Chair's Report**

- Paul Davenport, Faculty Senate Chair
- Pradeep Kumar retired March 31, 2015
- Thank you to all that volunteered to serve on university committees and councils and voting. Election results will be posted tomorrow morning.
- President Fuchs is hosting the Faculty Senate Reception, Tuesday, April 28, at 5:30 p.m. at the former President's House
- Next Faculty Senate meeting is May 7 in the President's Ballroom, Emerson Hall.

# President's Report

# Kent Fuchs, President

- At the last senate meeting, Dr. Win Phillips will give an update on the planning process to set university wide goals. A task force was appointed to guide in this. The President expects to give describe the initial version of the goals at the State of the University address in the fall. During the week of December 4, there will be a celebration of the University past, present and future.
- Due to the construction at the O'Connell Center, commencement this year will be held in Ben Hill Griffin Stadium.
- President Fuchs introduced Jane Adams, VP University Relations, to explain what has been going on in the Legislature this year.
  - Jane Adams noted that at the moment there is a standoff between the legislature, governor and federal governor. There's \$2B difference between house and senate versions of the budget.
  - UF is doing well in the House budget version. Some of the top priorities include:
    - Renovation and Expansion of Engineering building into the Nexxus facility
    - Renovation of Norman Hall
    - Buying new boiler
    - Preeminence funding UF is seeking an additional \$10M
    - IFAS is asking for \$5.5M
    - Seeking funding for the St. Augustine project
    - Joint use of Library facilities
  - Policy issues going on in the legislature
    - Last year the legislature passed public exemption for researchers. This year UF is asking that animal care records at the College of Veterinary Medicine be exempt.
    - Other bills going through the legislature are:
      - Sales Tax exemption for textbooks
      - How many days in advance of class should textbooks be posted?
      - Senate version: Universities cannot increase graduate and professional tuition. House version has that the BOG approves graduate and professional tuition increases.
      - Guns on campus bill is sitting in Senate committee.

#### **Provost Report**

## Joe Glover, Provost

- The College of Law is close to the end of their Dean search.
- A search has started for the Director of the University of Florida Performing Arts Center because Michael Blachly is retiring.
- UF has hired Ms. Betty Cummings as new director of UFOnline effective July 1<sup>st</sup>. Ms. Cummings served a Director in the US Environmental Protection Agency.
- Senior leadership has decided to take a portion of UF funds to invest in the creation of HyperGator II, a research computer. HyperGator I almost exceeds its capacity. The University is currently asking for bids. Plans are to have it up and running by October 2015.
- At the moment we have 80 out of 120 confirmed hires for preeminent funding.
- The PaCE program basically provides students a chance to start their degree online and then • transfer to campus after completing prerequisites and earn 60 credits.

# **Action Items:**

# **Chair-Elect Election**

- Each candidate gave a 5 minute presentation about their qualification and goals before the vote. • Dr. Keesling gave his talk by video.
  - James Keesling, Professor, Mathematics, College of Liberal Arts & Sciences
  - Nicole Stedman, Associate Professor, Agricultural Education & Communication, College of Agriculture

Nicole Stedman was elected Chair-Elect by majority vote. (James Keesling - 23; Nicole Stedman - 43)

#### Honorary Degrees

- Stratford May, Chair of the Honorary Degree Committee, had a conflict. Paul Davenport presented in his place.
  - Senate approved the candidates for Honorary Degrees: 0 Walden Rhines and Henry Trawick, Jr.

#### **Curriculum Committee**

- Change Credits BSN-DNP Program • This item was approved.
- Change Credits Post Master's DNP Program ٠
  - This item was approved.
- Close Economics (College of Business)
  - This item was approved.

#### **Constitution Committee**

- Revisions Article VI of the Constitution (with edits)
- Revisions Article VI of the Constitution (edits accepted)
  - This item was approved.

# Information Items:

#### **Curriculum Committee**

- **Change Credits Choral Keyboard 2015**
- Change Credits Choral Keyboard 2016

# Paul Davenport, Chair

# Bernard Mair, Associate Provost **Undergraduate Affairs**

Christine Fruin, Chair, Constitution Committee

# Bernard Mair, Associate Provost **Undergraduate Affairs**

#### **Professor of Practice**

# **Angel Kwolek-Folland**, Associate Provost Academic and Faculty Affairs

- Academic deans asked the Office of Academic Affairs to explore the creation of a nontenure-eligible faculty title emphasizing relevant industry and professional experience.
- After discussing with faculty and administrators, the Office of Academic Affairs proposes a new faculty title modifier: *Of [field specific] Practice*. Examples include: "Professor of Engineering Practice", "Professor of Educational Practice", "Professor of Business Practice", etc.

Meeting adjourned at 4:11 p.m.

#### **Senators Attending**

Carrie Adams Derek Barber Jim Bice **Trevor Bopp** Gary Boulware Dimitri Bourilkov Jeannine Brady Kendal Broad Samantha Brooks Christa Cook **Deb Cupples** Paul Davenport Tammy Davidson Keith Diem Julie Dodd Silvio dos Santos **Katerie Gladdys Renee Goodrich** David Groisser Darryl Heard Phyllis Hendry **Cynthia Higgins** Amanda House Ray Issa **Delores James** Rae Jesano Jasmeet Judge Edith Kaan Mei-Fang Lan Sherry Larkin Gillian Lord Volker Mai Valrie Minson Kimberly Moore Paul Mueller Larry Muszynski Esther Obonyo

Walter O'Dell Jorg Peters **Caryn Plummer** George Pringle **Cindy Prins Patrick Reakes** Sarah Reuss Mary Risner **Jeffrey Rollins** Andrew Rosalsky **Beverly Sanders** Susan Schaffer **Christopher Scuderi** Susan Semple-Rowland Nipa Shah Steve Shugan **Daniel Siragusa** Lauren Solberg Maya Stanfield-Mazzi Nicole Stedman Stacey Steinberg Laurie Taylor Margaret Temple-Smith **Ray Thomas** Sonal Tuli Katie Vogel-Anderson Ann Wehmeyer Karen Whalen Nicole Whitehead Sandra Wilson **Caroline Wiltshire** Yafeng Yin **Henry Young** Mary Ellen Young

Liaisons

Jane Adams

Christine Fruin Kent Fuchs Joe Glover Angel Kwolek-Folland Bernard Mair Marc Heft

#### Guests

Lars Beattie Meg Hendrix Michelle Knight Janine Sikes Sondra Smith