

Faculty Senate Meeting Minutes August 23, 2018 3:00 – 5:00 p.m. Reitz Union Rion Ballroom- East

Katie Vogel Anderson, chair, called the meeting to order at 3:00 p.m.

Dr. Vogel Anderson welcomed Senators and guests to the Faculty Senate meeting. She thanked Curtis Reynolds, Vice President for Business Affairs, for sponsoring the after-meeting reception. Dr. Vogel Anderson then introduced President Kent Fuchs, who gave the State of the University Address.

### **State of the University Address**

Kent Fuchs, President

### Chair's Report

# Katie Vogel Anderson, Chair

- An update on past Chair Dr. David Quillen's work on retirement benefits comparisons with other peer institutions and faculty representation on DSO's was provided. VP of Advancement Tom Mitchell and VP of Research David Norton have met with President Fuchs, and the current and past Senate chair, and all are in agreement about including a faculty member on each respective DSO. Updates will be provided as these processes/decisions are made.
- UF Human Resource Services Vice President Jodi Gentry and her team have hired a consultant group to examine UF benefits and additional data will be shared with Faculty Senate later this year.
- UF Human Resource Services has started a new faculty orientation program called "Experience UF." Experience UF is a program that lasts throughout the academic year for new faculty and professionals. Each month, a social networking event is planned – and from 5:30pm to 7pm on October 10<sup>th</sup>, faculty senators are invited to a program at Wilmot Gardens to meet new colleagues and discuss UF shared governance. Please RSVP with project contact Tricia Bachus, at: <u>experienceuf@hr.ufl.edu</u> or Chair Vogel Anderson at: <u>facultysenatechair@aa.ufl.edu</u>.
- Three Distinguished Professors have been named. Invitations have been extended to each to present a lecture immediately following one of this year's Senate meetings in the Reitz Union Chamber. Similarly, the Honorary Degrees and Distinguished Awards Committee will solicit nominations due October 1<sup>st</sup>. Please monitor your email for these announcements and encourage nomination submissions from your areas of representation.

# **Action Items:**

The May 2018 Minutes were approved.

### **Constitution Committee Report**

# Richard Scholtz, Chair

University Constitution & Regulations Comm.

• The University Constitution & Regulations Committee request to approve an update to the Senate bylaws to include the title of 'Of Practice' in the bylaws' definition of faculty was approved.

#### **University Curriculum Committee**

Doctor of Athletic Training The Doctor of Athletic Training (DAT) Program was approved.

### Information Items:

### **University Curriculum Committee**

**BA in Art** 

Angela Lindner, Associate Provost for Undergraduate Affairs

This is a request to update the name of the BA program to better represent the degree content and align with peer institutions.

### **New Course Evaluation System Naming**

Chris Hass, Associate Provost for Academic and Faculty Affairs

The GatorRater faculty evaluation system is being replaced by the new GatorEvals system which is being piloted this fall with departments within the College of Education, the College of Journalism and Communications, and the College of Health and Health Professions, with additional units participating in the spring, and summer. A full launch of the system is anticipated to take place in Fall 2019. System participation by faculty submitting tenure and promotion packages and those teaching on-line courses was discussed. A new GatorEvals informational website will map old and new evaluation questions and will communicate updated information. Additional information and updates on the process will be shared with Faculty Senate throughout the academic year.

### **Graduate Council**

 Close the Master of Advertising Graduate School This request is from the College of Journalism and Communications to close this existing degree program to better align with the current model of their masters programs.

### **Open Discussion from Senate Floor**

There was no open discussion from the Senate floor.

Meeting adjourned at 3:45 p.m.

### Attending

Senators John Abbitt Sophia Acord Damian Adams Joselyn Ahlgren Chunrong Ai Elif Akcali Angela Bacsik Arunava Banerjee **Imre Bartos Richard Berry** Julien Beuzelin Sally Bethart

Stephanie Birch Vincent Bird Archie Birkner IV **David Bloom Donald Bolser** Lyle Brenner John Bromfield Jason Byrd Clav Calvert **Randall Cantrell** Xinguang "Jim" Chen Nancy Clark Charles Cobb

Joseph Costa Mary Ellen Davey Kara Dawson Elizabeth Devos John Diaz Pamela Dickrell Keith Diem Sylvain Doré Andrea Dutton Mary Ann Eaverly John Erickson **Tammy Euliano** Hugh Fan

Paul Duncan, Sr. Associate Dean

# Angela Lindner, Associate Provost for Undergraduate Affairs

Yuguang"Michael" Fang **Ben Fernandez** Sherri Flax Paul Gader **Breann Garbas** Macy Geiger Yolanda Goode **Reetu Grewal** Matthew Gurka Youssef Haddad **Ralph Hamor** Carrie Harmon **George Harrison** Susan Hegeman Phyllis Hendry **Emily Hind Qiu-Xing Jiang** Madeline Joseph Serdar Kirli Yong Jae Ko Tanya Koropeckyj-Cox Clint Kovach **Dennis Kramer** Mei-Fang Lan Frank Lomonte Maureen Long Gillian Lord Sarah Lynne Ashley MacSuga-Gage Volker Mai **Christopher Martyniuk** Robert McCleery William McGehee Paul Mueller Jennifer Munoz Pareja Leslie Murray Scott Myers Juan Nino **Deborah Nistler** Teresa Olczyk Joshua Patterson Amanda Phalin Mario Poceski Keith Rambo Joseph Riley Maria Rogal **Elizabeth Ross** Jean-Francois Roulet German Sandoya Mirand

**Keith Schneider Richard Scholtz** James Seale Lauren Solberg Martin Sorbille **Frederick Southwick Richard Stepp** Tricia Swan Jacqueline Swank Ray Thomas Scott Thompson Lawrence Ukeiley **Kevin Vincent** Katie Vogel-Anderson Nian Wang Phil Wegner **Bruce Welt** Nicole Whitehead Joe Wilson Samuel Wu Andrew Zimmerman Liaisons Suzan Alteri Kent Fuchs Jodi Gentry Joe Glover Diane McFarlin Onve Ozuzu Mike Perri Judith Russell Patricia Sohn **Elaine Turner** Guests Ashish Aggarwal Janet Glover Branden Pearson Brian K. Marchman