

Faculty Senate Meeting Minutes February 15, 2018 - 3:00 - 5:00 p.m. Reitz Union Chamber

The meeting was called to order by Faculty Senate Chair David M. Quillen, MD, at 3:00 p.m.

The January 25, 2018 minutes were approved.

Reports

• Chair's Report

David M. Quillen, Chair

- A moment of silence was held in remembrance of the victims of the Parkland school shooting.
- Faculty Senate Chair nominations are now open.
- <u>The Distinguished Professor Lecture</u> will be held immediately following the next Faculty Senate meeting.
- The end of the year faculty senate reception will be held at the Earl and Christy Powell University House from 5:30 to 7:00 p.m. on April 19th (following the Faculty Senate meeting.)
- Faculty Senate Parliamentarian Ana Spiguel was introduced to present the Constitution Committee's annual review of proposed <u>university regulations</u> changes via assignments of *'lights' as follows:
 - Green = changes which have elements of potentially some impact to faculty but are mainly stylistic or technical changes to a regulation.
 - Yellow = changes which have elements of potentially limited impact to a more limited number of faculty.
 - Red = changes which have elements of potentially high impact to many faculty.
 - *Red*: Traffic & Parking: Parking Registration <u>Regulation # 3.007</u> which increases some faculty and staff parking decal rates.
 - Green: Eligibility for Expanded Food and Nutrition Education Program (EFNEP) <u>Regulation #6.019</u> which follows last year's overhaul of a number of IFAS regulations; it was determined that this regulation is not needed and should be repealed.
 - Green: The group of regulations including: 2.004, 2.005, 2.008, and 2.012: these pertain to a 'clean up' of language to consistently match definitions in other regulations, including consistently defining persons and matching the language pertaining to the use of space on campus with actual (unchanged) university practices.
 - It is expected that there will be a tuition regulation in June and, barring any emergency regulations, probably not any additional regulations until next year.
 - The regulations will be posted on February 20th after which there is a comment period in which all are welcome to comment before the Board of Trustees meeting in March when they then vote on the regulations before they become law. Please contact Ana Spiguel with any follow-up inquiries.

Provost's Report

Joe Glover, Provost

- After securing a position as a Top 10 university this fall, the Board of Trustees and President Fuchs are seeking to become a Top 5 university. Provost Glover discussed how this informs some of the initiatives the university is undertaking and how it affects faculty.
- Provost Glover presented details regarding UF's current rankings, particularly among peer and competitive institutions. Rankings metrics such as faculty profiles, graduation and admission rates, alumni engagement, and degrees offered were examined.

Action Items:

Graduate Council

Master of Fine Arts in Design and Visual Communications

 \circ $\;$ This item was approved.

University Curriculum Committee

<u>Update to the Common Prerequisite Manual</u> the Accounting Major

 \circ $\;$ This item was approved.

Academic Calendar Options

Paul Duncan, Sr. Associate Dean Graduate School

Angela Lindner, Associate Provost for Undergraduate Affairs

Angela Lindner, Associate Provost Undergraduate Affairs

Scott Stricklin, UF Athletic Director

• The 2022-2023 academic year calendar was approved. The Senate favored maintaining the current academic calendar model rather than either of the two academic calendar options of: (Version 1) which decreased the total number of class days; and (Version 2) which offered final exams on Sunday.

Information Items:

University Athletics & Academics

 University Athletic Director Scott Stricklin provided an overview of the University Athletic Association's structure, operating principles, and academic statistics relating to UF's 573 student athletes and 21 varsity sports programs. UF athletes are from 35 states and 31 countries.

Guidelines on Managing Classroom Behavior

Susan Schaffer, Chair Academic Policy Council

 Dr. Schaeffer presented a resource which was crafted in response to the Academic Policy Council's concerns about classroom behavior. The guidelines were published in the last faculty newsletter and resides on the Provost's website. It is meant to be a resource for faculty in distress due to disruptive student behavior. The guidelines are proactive and discusses behavioral norms and what is and is not acceptable practice. Faculty are encouraged to include the guidelines in their syllabus.

Animal Research Task Force

Irene Cooke, Asst. Vice President for Research, Executive Director of Animal Care Services

Charles E. Wood, Professor and Chair,

 Dr. Charles E. Wood provided an update and overview of the Animal Research Task Force which presented its findings to the Vice President of Research in March 2017. The task force's positive findings, concerns, and recommendations were addressed in addition to information about the roles of the Institutional Animal Care and Use Committee (<u>IACUC</u>) and Animal Care Services (<u>ACS</u>). University infrastructure and administrative resources which support animal services were also reviewed.

Open Discussion from Senate Floor - *Three minute limit per speaker.*

- 1) University of Florida Faculty Senators
- 2) University of Florida Faculty
- A concern was raised regarding the overall, increased growth of bureaucracy over the past 3 5 years at UF and its impact on faculty's time. It was asked if the Infrastructure Council could review these and provide quantitative metrics comparing now to five years ago, particularly in consideration of the university's emphasis on effort reporting. It was suggested that a protypical item, such as Health Center IT, or training regulations, could be a good starting point in such a review.
- Feedback was provided regarding the considerable length of time needed to meet the requirements of IACUC protocol which has to meet strict federal regulations. Dr. Wood suggested that amendments to committee memberships and continued increased communication will assist in this process as the organization moves forward.

The meeting adjourned at 4:36 p.m.

Attending	Kara Dawson	Gillian Lord
Senators	John Diaz	Ashley MacSuga-Gage
John Abbitt	Keith Diem	Kalen Manasco
Damian Adams	John Erickson	Christopher Martinez
Abhinav Alakshendra	Hugh Fan	Robert McCleery
Suzan Alteri	Michael Fang	William McGehee
Dorina Avram	Zhihui Fang	Julia Morrisroe
Richard Berry	Ben Fernandez	Michael Mulvaney
Jim Bice	Joshua Freeman	Scott Myers
Victoria Bird	Jian Ge	Deborah Nistler
Vincent Bird	Ashley Ghiaseddin	Hannah Norton
Helene Blondeau	Reeta Grewal	Brandi Omerod
Rori Bloom	Matthew Gurka	Mario Poceski
Donald Bolser	Youssef Haddad	Cindy Prins
Lyle Brenner	Ralph Hamor	David Quillen
Kristy Breuhl Smith	George Leslie Harrison	Keith Rambo
Mary Brownell	Chris Hass	Churchill Roberts
Jason Butler	Bernard Hauser	Andrew Rosalsky
Jason Byrd	Susan Hegeman	Leah Rosenberg
Clay Calvert	Ianessa Humbert	Elizabeth Ross
Nico Cellinese	Michael Kane	Jean-Francois Roulet
Jim Chen	Christine A. Kelly-Begazo	Melody Royster
Christa Cook	Sedar Kirli	Susan Schaffer
Joseph Costa	Tanya Koropeckyj-Cox	Keith Schneider
Tammy Davidson	Mei-Fang Lan	Richard Scholtz

James Seale Amy Simonne Steven Slutsky Lauren Solberg Elisa Sottile Martin Sorbille Fred Southwick Ray Thomas Scott Thompson Katie Vogel Anderson Jay Watkins Phil Wegner Bruce Welt Nicole Whitehead R. David Whitley Hui Zou

Liasons Angel Kwolek-Folland Angela Lindner Ana Spiguel *Student Senators* Punam Amratia

Guests Irene Cooke Michael Mahoney Brian K. McMahan Maria Rogal Scott Stricklin Charles E. Wood