# Faculty Senate Meeting Minutes August 25, 2011 3:00 – 5:00 p.m. Reitz Union Grand Ballroom

The meeting was called to order at 3:00 p.m.

Scott Nygren welcomed senators and guests to the Faculty Senate meeting and introduced President Machen to present the State of the University Address.

# **State of the University Address**

Bernie Machen, President

http://www.president.ufl.edu/state-of-university/docs/2011/State-of-the-University-2011.pdf

## **Action Item**

The May 2011 minutes were approved.

Scott Nygren, Faculty Senate Chair

## **Information Items**

#### Harn Museum

**Eric Segal,** Harn Museum Education Curator of Academic Programs

Eric Segal gave a presentation about the opportunities that the Harn offers for faculty as an effective teaching tool for use with their classes.

#### **New Website**

Scott Nygren, Faculty Senate Chair

Dr. Nygren introduced the new website to the Senate. He noted that changing the website was not a choice. The software that the Senate used is no longer supported. A short overhead tour of the new site highlighting the new Advocacy Section and the Discussion area was presented.

## **Mission Statement**

Scott Nygren, Faculty Senate Chair

Students who have been working with Senator Graham suggested that the mission statement should be modified to include global citizenship. If interested, the mission statement can be found in the undergraduate catalogue. Since there is discussion about modifying the university's mission statement, it was suggested that the Faculty Senate form a task force to revise the statement. Faculty will be asked to participate on this task force this fall.

The meeting adjourned at 4 p.m. A reception followed the meeting.

### **Senators Attending**

Sophia Acord	Manuel Arreola	Gijs Bosman
Charles Adams	Scott Banks	Cheri Brodeur
Mary Adkins	Alexander Berkovich	Mary Brownell
Monika Ardelt	Donald Bolser	Babette Brumback

Eileen Buss
William Castleman
Nico Cellinese
Paul Chadik
Jean Cibula
Nereyda Clark
Donald Cohen
Jerry Culen
Barbara Curbow
Larry Duncan
Michael Dukes
Kevin Farmer
Liz Felter

Mary Ann Ferguson Jane Gannon

Lauren Garber-Lake William Giuliano Renee Goodrich Wayne Griffin Charlie Guy David Hahn Frederick Hamann

Jacob Hammer Candace Harper Edward Hart Galia Hatav

Marc Heft
David Holmes
David Janicke
Mike Katovich
Phil Kaufman
James Keesling

Mirka Koro-Ljungberg

John Leavey Michelle Mack Rob MacKay Todd Manini Tim Martin John Mecholsk

John Martin John Mecholsky Renwei Mei David Miller Marjorie Moore Debra Murie

Vasudha Narayanan Michael Nussbaum

Scott Nygren Carol Ojano-Dirain Deanna Pelfrey William Properzio

Emily Pugh
David Quillen
Teresa Rambo
Jamie Reilly
Beverly Roberts
Andrew Rosalsky
Jason Rothman
Vicki Sarajedini
Kenneth Sassaman

James Seale Rich Segal Brent Sellers Christiana Shaw

SA Sherif Steve Shugan Susan Sinnott Keith Stanfill Craig Stanley John Stevely Carol Stewart Jake Streit Ghatu Subhash Colleen Swain

Margaret Temple-Smith

J. J. Tepas Kevin Thompson Mark Tillman Jenny Tucker Sonal Tuli

Mickie Swisher

Hans van Oostrom

Neill Wallis Jay Watkins Lori Waxenberg Ann Wehmeyer Cirecie West-Olatunji

Karen Whalen Bernard Whiting Suzanne Wilson Mary Ellen Young Janet Yamamoto Henry Zmuda

## Liaisons

Cammy Abernathy Steve Dorman Henry Frierson Paula Fussell Joe Glover Michael Good Lucinda Lavelli Bernie Machen Jack Payne Michael Perri David Sammons

Guests
Eric Segal
Rick Yost
Jackie Ayers
Dyan Gershman
Keith Shroeder