Faculty Senate Meeting Minutes May 12, 2011 3:00 - 5:00 p.m. McCarty C100

The meeting was called to order at 3:03 p.m.

Minutes of the April meeting were approved.

Chair's Report Mary Ann Ferguson, Chair, Faculty Senate Chair Ferguson welcomed the Senate and stated that her report will be short due to President Machen's Budget presentation. She will give a report on college shared governance later in the meeting.

President's Report

President Machen gave an overview of the 2011 legislative session. He stated that the university received approval to become self-insured and Shands will receive sovereign immunity. The spring/summer enrollment pilot with Bright Futures was also approved. The Legislature passed the 2011-2012 budget, with the university receiving a net reduction of \$33 million. Plans are for us to increase undergraduate tuition 15% each year for the next three years to help recoup some of the funding that was cut. Administrators are looking into alternatives to handle continued cuts in state funding.

Provost's Report

Joe Glover explained the difference between the spring/summer pilot program and requiring students to take courses during the summer. With the spring/summer cohort pilot program, about 2000 students will attend the University of Florida during spring and summer (when demand is down) and not be in residence during the fall. Students can take online courses, do internships, study abroad, etc. during the fall. The legislature gave approval for students to use Bright Futures during the summer term for this program only. Requiring students to take at least 9 credit hours once during the summer is different than the spring/summer cohort. The university had the 9 credit hour rule until about 10 years ago when the legislature passed a bill to not make it a requirement. The legislature has agreed to re-institute the 9 credit hour rule for summer.

Information Item

University Constitution Committee

- **General Education Revisions**
- **Review of Respective COC Roles** •

This will not come before the Faculty Senate for approval until next year. These have already been approved by the Senate. The Constitution Committee is working on the language and was presented at the last Faculty Senate meeting. It was decided at the last Faculty Senate meeting to return to the Steering Committee to work out the wording. Concern was raised about adding the Vice President of Student Affairs to the wording of each of the items and changing the meaning.

Joe Glover, Provost

Bernie Machen, President

Margaret Temple-Smith, Chair

Action Items

University Curriculum Committee

Bernard Mair, Chair, University **Curriculum Committee**

- Proposal to Create School of Advanced Dental Sciences This item was approved.
- Proposal for International Studies Major This item was approved.

Information Items

Inactive Programs

Bernard Mair, Chair, University **Curriculum Committee**

Biochemistry and Molecular Biology ٠ This program is inactive. This is just for Faculty Senate information.

College Level Governance

Mary Ann Ferguson, Chair, Faculty Senate With the help of college units, college councils and senates, we were able to give a report on college shared governance. Overall, it appears that shared governance at the college level is either integrated or evolving. Units currently conducting evaluations are good role models for those who are just beginning this process.

Mission Statement

Scott Nygren, Chair-Elect, Faculty Senate Students who have been working with Senator Graham suggested that the mission statement be modified to include a global citizenship statement. President Machen has agreed, although Dr. Machen wants to make sure that the mission statement continues to state that our primary mission is research and teaching. Since we are talking about modifying the university's mission statement, Dr. Nygren would like to form a task force in the fall to revise the mission statement. Suggestions are welcome.

Open Discussion from Senate Floor

Dr. Ferguson told the Senate that she was delighted to have the opportunity to serve this past year. She pointed out that after working with Chair-Elect Dr. Scott Nygren, that he will make a great chair for 2011-2012.

The meeting was adjourned at 4:22 p.m.

Senators Attending

- Jessi Aaron Mary Adkins Manuel Arreola Lorena Baccaglini Sanford Berg Alexander Berkovich Gijs Bosman Amy Buhler
- Louis Cattafesta Donald Cohen Oscar Crisalle Barbara Curbow John Dobson Michael Dukes Kevin Farmer Mary Ann Ferguson
- Jason Ferrell Jane Gannon Robyn Gleason Wayne Griffin **Charles Haddad** Frederick Hamann Brian Harfe **Edward Hart**

Marc Heft **Richard Hill** Pat Hogue Shannon Holliday **David Holmes** Aida Hozic Gary Ihas David Janicke Mike Katovich Lauren Lake John Leavey **Stephen Lewis** Greg MacDonald Rob MacKay John Mecholsky Renwei Mei Mike Meldrom Paul Mueller Carol Murphy Michael Nussbaum Scott Nygren David Ostrov Marc Ottenga Nancy Poehlmann **Emily Pugh Beverly Roberts** Andrew Rosalsky Kenneth Sassaman Orit Shechtman **Katie Sieving Daniel Siragusa** Maya Stanfield-Mazzi Keith Stanfill **Mickie Swisher Kevin Thompson** Sonal Tuli Sharda Udassi Barry Tillman Jay Watkins Karen Whalen **Bernard Whiting** Tom Wichman Joe Wilson Joel Yelich Jennifer Zedalis

Liaisons

Teresa Dolan Joe Glover Michael Perri Judith Russell David Sammons Margaret Temple-Smith

Guests

Milagros Pena Rick Yost