Academic Policy Council Annual Report 2010-2011

During the past academic year, the APC met to review the proposed academic calendars; to discuss proposed language changes to the General Education requirements; and to review a proposal to cease awarding National Merit Scholarships.

We were asked to review the implementation of minus grades. There was some feeling that the report that the implementation resulted in no statistically valid changes, was not consonant with the impression of some senators. A suggestion was made to ask Institutional Research to provide a college distribution of grades analysis.

Several meetings involved the issue of faculty governance, arising from the manner in which the formation of a school was handled in the College of Engineering. While there was a widespread feeling that the APC was not an appellate board, there was also a feeling that some policy should be promulgated to provide a venue for constitutional violations in a college. The suggestion was made to contact other institutions to discover what processes their faculty governance has in place. The APC will pursue this discussion in the Fall.

There were several topics that had been discussed as possible agenda items, such as: Interdisciplinary education; distance learning; online course security, especially with regard to proctoring; grade inflation; the Academic Work Plan from the Ad-hoc Committee; and student perceptions of teaching. Unfortunately, so many members were absent from so many meetings that these topics could not be approached in a timely manner. One of the members resigned mid-year; the October, November, and December meetings were cancelled. Only two voting members attended the October meeting, and only the chair was present for the November meeting; after a poll to check attendance for December, that meeting was cancelled when none of the voting members could attend. In February, of the voting members, only the chair attended the meeting. Three voting members attended the March and April meetings.

In the April meeting, Tracy Rambo and Roger Reep were thanked for their service on the Council; Cynthia Morton and Nancy Poehlmann were elected co-chairs for the 2011-2012 academic year.

Respectfully submitted,

Nancy Poehlmann