## University Constitution and Regulations Committee (UCRC) Minutes

10 April 2018 122 Rogers Hall 9:00 a.m.

Present: Richard Scholtz, Angel Kwolek-Folland, Ana Spiguel, Chelsea Smartt, Maureen Long, Laurie Bialosky, and Padraic Levings.

The meeting was called to order at 9:17 a.m. by UCRC Chair Richard Scholtz.

## 1. Approval of Minutes.

-The February 13, 2018 minutes were approved.

- 2. Updates
  - a. Standard Operating Procedures & Committee on Committees Richard Scholtz

-Richard Scholtz went before the Committee On Committees (COC) last month to broach a request that all Faculty Senate and joint committees adopt a Standard Operating Procedure (SOP). COC could review an SOP in conjunction with the COC periodic review of committees. While the Committee on Committees agreed with the concept, they will further discuss this item at their next meeting later this month. They will weigh whether they prefer to make SOP's a recommendation versus a bylaw requirement.

b. Faculty Senate – Richard Scholtz

-These bylaw amendments: <u>http://fora.aa.ufl.edu/docs/46/2017-</u> <u>2018/APRILhandoutConstCommCummulativeChanges-Roundlla-rvs.pdf</u> are on the April Faculty Senate agenda as Information items and will be considered as action items in May.

3. Adoption of "Of Practice" to Faculty titles, SBL 21 (A), pp. 33-34 – Angel Kwolek-Folland

This item is being re-visited after being discussed in 2017. The committee voted to amend the Senate Bylaw 21(A)(1)(o) bylaw as follows:.

"o" Any of the above titles modified as appropriate by Clinical, Research, Extension, or Of Practice.

## 4. Parking & Transportation Committee, SBL 20 (A)(2)(b)(8), pp. 28-29

The Constitution Committee agreed with the content of by the Parking & Transportation
Committee's re-submitted committee description but amended the wording as <u>attached</u> to:
Omit the word 'voting' to maintain consistency with the descriptions used by joint committees which precludes explicitly stating that students are voting members in joint committees. Voting is typically only mentioned in the bylaws when stating if a specific member/membership is *non*-voting (as opposed to voting.)

-Replaced '14' members with '19' since the committee membership now consists of seven members elected by the senate, seven by the President or President's designee, and five student members.

Additional discussion was held regarding consideration of stating explicitly in the bylaws that students cannot serve as committee chairs. Because student terms are for one year, it is unlikely to materialize as an issue which needs to be addressed by the Faculty Senate bylaws; additionally, it is challenging to address joint and presidential committee membership issues soley with Faculty Senate rules and regulations.

## 5. Chair Election

-Chair Richard Scholtz was re-elected by acclamation.

6. Adjournment

-The meeting was adjourned at 10:03 a.m.