## University Constitution Committee Minutes March 1, 2011, 3 – 5 p.m. Pugh Hall Oral History Conference Room

## Attendance:

Barbara Wingo Margaret Temple-Smith James Seale John Leavey Paul Ortiz Michael Siebecker Jill Herndon

Meeting was called to order at 3:10 p.m.

Minutes from February 2011 were approved.

At the last meeting, the Faculty Senate passed the Academic Policy Council's recommendation to revise the Senate Bylaws on the General Education Committee Membership. This recommendation was sent to the Constitution Committee to write a proposed amendment. After discussion, the Committee changed the proposed Amendment to the following:

**General Education Committee**. The President or designee shall appoint eight voting members to this committee from the majority of baccalaureate degree-granting colleges within the University, and the Senate will elect eight voting members from the faculty at large, and two non-voting student members selected by the student government. The non-voting chair will be appointed by the President or his designee. A voting co-chair is elected by and from among the senate representatives. The General Education Committee establishes a philosophy of what constitutes the general education component for baccalaureate degrees offered by the University. It reviews, in accordance with established criteria, all courses proposed to fulfill general education and university writing and math requirements. It makes recommendations to the Curriculum Committee regarding the continued effectiveness of the general education program.

Margaret Temple-Smith will present to the Steering Committee on Thursday.

The committee had no new business. However, there was a general discussion about ways to create a procedure for those who contest a Senate agenda item can post their argument in advance. Barbara Wingo also answered questions about the Guidelines on the Use of Social Media.

The committee will probably meet one more time before the end of the year. Margaret reminded everyone that Paul Ortiz will be the new chair of the council and thanked everyone for their hard work.

The meeting was adjourned at 3:51 p.m.