August 30, 2010 Meeting 2:00-4:00 Tigert Hall

In attendance
Amelia Bell
John Leavey
Jim Seale
Maggie Temple-Smith, Chair
Barbara Wingo

The chair called the meeting to order at 2:05.

The committee approved the May 4, 2010 meeting.

Business

In preparation for presentation to the Steering Committee on September 2, the committee made changes to Article VI, section 2, intended to reflect the reality that a department may now span more than one college and to describe more accurately the function of a college.

The committee made the following changes and additions to section 2(A):

A college shall be a unit of the University organized <u>to manage a budget</u>; to conduct <u>a professional function</u> or curricula of study, <u>and</u>_research, <u>service and extenson</u>; and to grant degrees.

The committee made the following changes and additions to section 2A(2) for the purpose of clarifying its meaning and eliminating ambiguity.

2. The faculty of a college shall consist of (a) all faculty members in the departments and units which that belong to the college; and-(b) the faculty paid by another college but teaching regularly in the college as part of their duties, when so appointed by specific action of the deans concerned; (c) the deans, associate deans, and assistant deans of the college; and (d) the President of the University as an ex-officio member.

The committee made the following changes and additions to section 2(C) in order to make the language parallel to section 2(A):

(C) Because the college is the unit of the University organized to conduct <u>a professional</u> function or curricula of study, research, service and extension, and to grant degrees, to conduct curricula of study and research and to grant degrees, periodic evaluations of each college shall be conducted in accordance with procedures adopted by the Senate.

The committee made the following changes to the language of section 3 to reflect current reality and current practice.

THE DEPARTMENTS – The department shall be the fundamental unit of academic and administrative organization within the University. Departments shall be either professional functions departments or teaching and research departments. For purposes of organization and budget, each teaching and research department shall be assigned to one and only one college.

The committee added

(A) The department shall be a unit of the University organized to manage a budget and conduct a professional function or a teaching, research, service and extension mission.

The committee re-lettered the remaining provisions as follows and made the following changes:

(AB) The members of a department shall consist of all faculty members in the departmental budget, and other persons who teach or do research in the department and are accepted by the vote of the departmental faculty.

The committee removed the limiting language from new section (C) [former section B]:

(BC) The program of a teaching and research department shall be conducted by the departmental faculty through a chair, who shall have general responsibility for the activities of the department.

We amended new section D [former section B] to reflect the reality that a department may now span more than one college:

- (\in D) The chair shall be nominated by the dean(\underline{s}) of the college(\underline{s}) after formal consultation with a committee of the department selected by its tenured members and after consultation with others in related fields outside the department. The nominations shall be forwarded to the President for approval. In those instances where the nominee of the dean(\underline{s}) of the college(\underline{s}) is not concurred in by the departmental committee, that committee's dissenting report should be forwarded to the President along with the nomination made by the dean(\underline{s}).
- (DE) Because the department is the fundamental unit of academic and administrative organization within the University, periodic evaluations of each department shall be conducted.

The meeting adjourned at 3:30.