

Faculty Senate Meeting Minutes September 26, 2019 - 3:00 p.m. Reitz Union Chamber

Call to Order & Approval of August 22, 2019 Minutes Ray G. Thomas, Chair

- -The meeting was called to order at 3:00 p.m. by Faculty Senate Chair Ray G. Thomas
- -The August minutes were approved.

Reports

Chair's Report

Ray G. Thomas, Chair

- -Thank you to all UF faculty for their role in advancing the university's ranking to number 7 in public universities in the U.S. News and World Report rankings.
- -Dr. Richard Scholtz was welcomed as the newly elected chair of Infrastructure Council.
- -Reminder: The Honorary Degrees and Distinguished Awards nomination deadline is October 1, 2019. Please submit a <u>nomination</u> and contact the Honorary Degrees and Distinguished Awards Committee Chair, Dr. Rick Yost, with any inquiries.
- -Kognito is a free online training simulation course to learn effective referral techniques and is designed to help faculty notice when students show signs of stress, and learn how to talk about these signs, how to practice sharing concerns, and how to motivate individuals to seek help. Faculty are encouraged to take this training and help build community support for this Board of Governors initiative facilitated by the UF Counseling and Wellness Center.
- -Earlier this month, the Chair attended the Board of Trustees' Retreat. The Chair is a member of the Academic, Faculty and Student Affairs & Experience Committee, which supports policy and initiatives that enhance university quality and national prominence through the promotion of academic programs of distinction, promotion of university research, including student and faculty research opportunities, and support of world class faculty and scholars.
- -Trustee Jason Rosenberg, Chair of the Academic, Faculty and Student Affairs & Experience Committee, has drafted a white paper entitled "UF Student Experience" and has asked the Chair to chair a subcommittee of faculty to contribute to the discussion. These discussions will be about policy in keeping with the Board's advisory role, and not directed toward the operation of the University.
- The Chair and Faculty Senate Chair-elect Dr. Sylvain Doré, attended the Advisory Council of Faculty Senates (ACFS) Fall Retreat at Florida Polytechnic University in Lakeland. The ACFS establishes the means for faculty participation in the process of statewide public university governance. The fundamental purpose of the ACFS is to work toward better and higher quality educational opportunities in the system of public four-year colleges and universities overseen by the Board of Governors in the State of Florida. It serves as a mechanism to discuss issues of importance to higher education in Florida and provide input from a faculty perspective. The Chair of the ACFS is a member of the BOG much like our Faculty Senate Chair serves as a member of the BOT. A legislative update and the Kognito roll out was discussed. The Chair will serve on a committee to review the ACFS Bylaws. -The Chair discussed the theme of parental leave and it's relevance to: recent demographic changes brought about by the Faculty 500 hiring initiative; the drive for increased diversification in STEM fields;

faculty work-life-academic balance; contributions to the quality of life in the Gainesville area; and the opportunity for UF to be a leader among top public universities. In discussions with faculty, there is support for a parental leave policy that would offer a semester of leave, and it could resemble our current policy for sabbaticals. The Chair also referenced President Fuchs' Alligator Letter column, published last Friday, entitled "As UF rises in rank, what should endure?" which asked the question, "Can we be even more collegial and caring as we become more excellent?"

President's Report

Kent Fuchs, President

-President Fuchs presented Pillars of Excellence: Moving Florida from popularity to preeminence, a highlight of the 2020 legislative budget request which he will present at the upcoming Board of Governors (BOG) meeting where the resource investments and benefits as well as the matching of the university's priorities and goals with that of the legislature, governor, and BOG will be discussed. -Dr. Fuchs addressed inquiries regarding his not having a contract, which is dissimilar to many universities' traditions of having one with their presidents. The BOG policy of contracting Presidents for one year once a President's initial contract period ends was clarified, as well as the BOG policy of then voting annually once a President's initial contract period ends. Dr. Fuchs will instead have a BOG appointment.

Provost's Report

Joe Glover, Provost

-Provost Glover provided search updates, including that there are two candidates for Director of University Press of Florida Director and three finalists in the VP of Student Affairs search. The search for the College of Business Dean is underway and a narrowed field of candidates will be talking with the university throughout the month of October.

Action Items:

University Curriculum Committee

Angela Lindner, Associate Provost

• Common Prerequisites Notes Modification

for Undergraduate Affairs

- -This request is from the Dept. of Biology to add notes to Florida's common prerequisites notes to clarify which courses are required for transfer students seeking admissions to the Biology major.
- -This item was approved.

Information Items:

UF Quest Resolution

Andrew Zimmerman, Associate Professor of Geological Sciences, CLAS Senator

-A resolution to formally express support for Quest, which is a faculty initiative and change to core curriculum, was presented. An overview of <u>Quest</u> was presented to Faculty Senate in May.

Open Discussion from Senate Floor - Three minute limit per speaker.

- 1) University of Florida Faculty Senators
- 2) University of Florida Faculty
- -There was no discussion from the Senate floor.

Adjournment

-The meeting adjourned at 3:34 p.m.

Attending

Senators

Shannon Rae Lowe Ceara Killian John Abbitt TheresaAntes Kiran Lukose

Angela Bacsik Sarah Lynne

Julien Beuzelin Ashley MacSuga-Gage

Volker Mai Xiang Bi Kalen Manasco Vincent Bird Archie Birkner IV Tara Mathien David Bloom Kiran Motaparthi Stephanie Bogart Michael Mulvaney

Wesley Bolch Walter Lee Murfee **Donald Bolser** Leslie Murray Timothy M. Murtha Lyle Brenner

Brent Broaddus Scott Myers Jason Byrd Walter O'Dell Randall Cantrell Teresa Olczyk Nancy Clark Joshua Patterson Charles Cobb Amanda Phalin Christina Deremer **Ariel Pomputius** Elizabeth Devos Keith Rambo

Sylvain Doré Jean-Francois Roulet Mary Ann Eaverly Hardev Sandhu

Hugh Fan German Sandoya Miranda

Zhihui Fang Keith Schneider Richard Scholtz Ben Fernandez **Breann Garbas Cynthia Simmons** Kristina Garcia-Guettler Martin Sorbille Ashley Ghiaseddin Delia Steverson Martie Gillen Zhong Su

Christopher Giordano Tricia Swan Jacqueline Swank Reetu Grewal Charles Haddad **Ray Thomas** Youssef Haddad **Scott Thompson** Carrie Harmon Apichai Tuanyok Stacia Hays Lawrence Ukeiley **Kevin Vincent** Linda Hayward

Selman Hershfield Katie Vogel Anderson Dennis Hiltunen Christopher Vulpe

Emily Hind Bruce Welt

Hartwig 'Henry' Hochmair Trent Williams, Jr. Qiu-Xing Jiang Sarah Wolking Davie Kadyampakeni Elizabeth Wood

Nicholas Kaleel

Lisa King Liaisons Clint Kovach **Kent Fuchs** Dennis Kramer Joe Glover Charlene Krueger Chris Hass

Mei-Fang Lan

Margaret Lo **Student Senators** **Devon Mims**

Guests

Ebony Breland-Hayes Angela Lindner **Andrew Wolpart**