

Faculty Senate Meeting Minutes August 22, 2019 - 3:00 p.m. Reitz Union Rion Ballroom - East

Call to Order & Welcome

Ray G. Thomas, Chair

-The meeting was called to order at 3:00 p.m. by Faculty Senate Chair Ray G. Thomas, who welcomed Senators and guests.

State of the University Address

W. Kent Fuchs, President University of Florida

-President Fuchs presented the 2019 State of the University Address.

Chair's Report

Ray G. Thomas, Chair

- -The Honorary Degrees and Distinguished Awards Committee will send out an email the last week of August to solicit nominations. The nomination deadline is October 1, 2019. As always, we seek a diverse pool of nominees.
- -The University has named the 2019 2020 Distinguished Professors and the Senate has invited each of them to present a lecture highlighting their work. The lectures will take place directly after a Senate meeting, in the Reitz Union Chamber room. This year's Distinguished Professors are:
- a. Ray Issa College of Design, Construction & Planning January 30th
- b. Patricia Snyder College of Education February 20th
- c. Yuguang "Michael" Fang College of Engineering Dr. Fang is on sabbatical in China, and he probably will not be presenting a lecture.
- -Themes the chair will visit this academic year include paid parental leave and infrastructure issues such as a Faculty Center, access to quality childcare and early learning facilities, and parking and transportation.
- -In an effort to strengthen our system of shared governance, the chair will attend Faculty Senate Council and college governance council and assembly meetings throughout this academic year.

Action Items:

Approval of May 9, 2019 Minutes

-The minutes were approved.

Ray G. Thomas, Chair

2023-24 Academic Calendar

Angela Lindner, Associate Provost for Undergraduate Affairs

-This item was approved.

Information Items:

Fulbright Fellowship Program

David L. Reed, Associate Provost for Faculty Honors and Awards

-Associate Provost for Faculty Honors and Awards, David Reed, provided an overview of the Fulbright program and discussed an iniative to increase the number of Fulbright applicants at UF for the August 2020 Fulbright application deadline.

University Curriculum Committee

Angela Lindner, Associate Provost

• Common Prerequisites Notes Modification

for Undergraduate Affairs

-This request is from the Dept. of Biology to add notes to Florida's common prerequisites notes to clarify which courses are required for transfer students seeking admissions to the Biology major.

Open Discussion from Senate Floor - Three minute limit per speaker.

- 1) University of Florida Faculty Senators
- 2) University of Florida Faculty
- -There was no discussion from the Senate floor.

Adjournment

-The meeting was adjourned at 3:48 p.m. and was followed by a reception sponsored by Curtis Reynolds, VP, Business Affairs and Faculty Senate.

Attending
Senators
Chunrong Ai
Elif Akcali
Theresa Antes
Wayne Archer
Angela Bacsik
Julien Beuzelin
Xiang Bi

Stephanie Birch
Archie Birkner IV
Stephanie Bogart
Wesley Bolch
Lyle Brenner
Brent Broaddus
Jason Byrd
Randall Cantrell
Xinguang 'Jim' Chen

Nancy Clark
Sherrilene Classen
Joseph Costa
Florin Curta
Mary Ellen Davey
Kara Dawson
Thomas Denagamage

Christina Deremer
Pamela Dickrell
Keith Diem
Sylvain Doré
Randell Doty
Mary Ann Eaverly
Stephen Enloe

Zhihui Fang Ben Fernandez Breann Garbas

Hugh Fan

Kristina Garcia-Guettler

Macy Geiger Malay Ghosh Martie Gillen

Christopher Giordano Yolanda Goode Reetu Grewal

Reetu Grewal Robert Guralnick Charles Haddad Youssef Haddad Ralph Hamor Stacia Hays Selman Hershfield Dennis Hiltunen Hartwig 'Henry' Hochmair

Madeline Joseph
Davie Kadyampakeni
Lisa King
Clint Kovach
Dennis Kramer
Charlene Krueger
Mei-Fang Lan
Moon J.Lee
Jose Lemos
Lora Levett
Margaret Lo

Frank Lomonte
Maureen Long
Shannon Rae Lowe
Kiran Lukose
Sarah Lynne
Ashley MacSuga-Gage
Volker Mai

Kalen Manasco
Tara Mathien
William McGehee
Kiran Motaparthi

Michael Mulvaney JenniferMunoz Pareja Walter Lee Murfee Leslie Murray Timothy M. Murtha Scott Myers

Walter O'Dell Teresa Olczyk Joshua Patterson Ariel Pomputius

Keith Rambo Jean-Francois Roulet Hardev Sandhu German Sandoya Miran

German Sandoya Miranda Keith Schneider Richard Scholtz
Karla Shelnutt
Cynthia Simmons
Lauren Solberg
Frederick Southwick
Richard Stepp
Delia Steverson
Zhong Su
Tricia Swan
Jacqueline Swank

Ray Thomas
Scott Thompson
Stephanie Toelle
Patrick Troy
Apichai Tuanyok
Lawrence Ukeiley
Katie Vogel Anderson
Nian Wang
Ratree Wayland
Shawn Weatherford
Kendall Webb
Bruce Welt
Trent Williams Ir

Bruce Welt
Trent Williams, Jr.
Elizabeth Wood
Samuel Wu
Cristina Zeretzke-Bien

Andrew Zimmerman

Liaisons
Angela Lindner
Diane McFarlin
Hannah Norton
Judith Russell
Ana Spiguel
Rick Yost

Student Senators Lindsey Palm

Guests Joe Fantone Nina Multak Welson Tremura Andrew Wolpart