

ACADEMY OF DISTINGUISHED TEACHING SCHOLARS

ACADEMY OF DISTINGUISHED TEACHING SCHOLARS Office Of The Provost 235 Tigert Hall, PO. Box 113175 Gainesville, Florida 32611-3175

Telephone: (352) 392-2404 Fax: (352) 392-8735

Meeting Notes

Place:239A Tigert Hall

Attendees: Distinguished Teaching Scholars: Dr. Elliot Douglas, Dr. Douglas J. Levey, Dr. Michael Olexa, Dr. Marianne Schmink. Dr. Nigel Richardson, Dr. Sanford Berg, Dr. Gail Kauwell, Dr. Gregory Neimeyer

Guests: Associate Provost Kathleen Ann Long

The Academy met on this date with the participation of the attendees listed above. The meeting started at 12:00 PM and adjourned at 1:00 PM. The subject matter discussed comprised the issues itemized below.

1 Introduction of Associate Provost Kathleen Long to the Academy

Dr. Kathleen Ann Long, Associate Provost for Faculty Development was welcome by members of The Academy. A perspective on the history of The Academy was shared with her. A discussion was held regarding her role as the key administrative and planning liaison between The Academy and the Office of the Provost and the Office of the President.

2 Discussion of Working Committees

The members present discussed the proposal of organizing The Academy's functions around key Working Committees.

One committee was formed, namely the *Induction Application Procedures Working Committee*, that gained the immediate membership of Dr. Douglas and Dr. Kauwell. This committee is charged with producing a final procedure for discussion on the meeting scheduled for November 9 of this year, to allow for adequate time for modifying the instructions in the web site and in all literature calling for nominations in early December.

3 Discussion of a Social Evening event

Dr. Richards proposed that The Academy hold an annual social event with the participation of inductees and university administrators. One possible venue is the President's House, but other alternatives are also feasible. This topic will be revisited in the near future.

This record of meeting notes was prepared by Dr. Nigel Richards, Chair, and by Dr. Oscar D. Crisalle, Secretary.

Respectfully submitted by

Prof. Oscar D. Crisalle

Secretary, Academy of Distinguished Teaching Scholars