

ACADEMY OF DISTINGUISHED TEACHING SCHOLARS Office Of The Provost 235 Tigert Hall, PO. Box 113175 Gainesville, Florida 32611-3175

Telephone: (352) 392-2404 Fax: (352) 392-8735

Meeting Notes

Academy of Distinguished Teaching Scholars

Date: February 10, 2009

Place: 354 Tigert Hall

Attendees: Nigel G. Richards, Sanford V. Berg, William Logan, Greg Ulmer, Oscar D. Crisalle

1 Internal Policies and Practices Document

- 1.1 Revision 3 of the document entitled "Internal Policies and Practices of the Academy of Distinguished Teaching Scholars" was discussed.
- 1.2 Greg Ulmer suggested the addition of a statement to the Vision statement introducing the Academy's role as consultants. William Logan volunteered to rewrite the Mission and Vision statements with goal of making the language more concrete and possibly less verbose, and to incorporate Prof. Ulmer's suggestion. Prof. Logan will transfer his editorial contributions to Prof. Crisalle who will create a final document for distribution.
- 1.3 Article 2.4 was modified, removing the requirement that a candidate for the office of Secretary should have completed at least one year of residency as a member of the Academy. The requirement is still in place for the office of Chair.
- 1.4 It was suggested by Prof. Berg that the document should contain articles defining the process for inducting new members into the Academy. It was agreed that such provisions will need to be added in a future revision.
- 1.5 A new version of the document will be circulated before our next meeting.

2 Appointment of a Secretary *Pro Tempore*

- 2.1 Prof. Crisalle was appointed by the attendees as *Secretary Pro Tempore* for the Academy, and received the following assignments:
 - a. To organize and execute an electoral process to elect a Chair and a Secretary for the year 2008-2009.
 - b. To implement a listserv address for supporting all e-mail communications among Academy members.

c. To summarize the status of the Academy's web site, and to solicit and propose modifications as needed to satisfy the needs of the Academy's mission.

3 Organization of Elections for Chair and Secretary

- 3.1 Prof. Crisalle will organize the electoral process, proceeding according to the following tasks:
 - a. Solicit nominations
 - b. Prepare an electronic ballot
 - c. Determine a date for conducting the vote.
- 3.2 The Ms. Candace Buford, Exec. Secretary for the Associate Provost, will distribute the ballot to all Academy members via e-mail, will collect the completed ballots, and will count the votes received. Prof. Crisalle will ask Aso. Provost Kwolett-Folland to make Ms. Buford's assistance available for carrying out these tasks.

4 Feedback to the Provost regarding the interview process for selecting a Director for the Honors Program

4.1 Prof. Richards suggested that we write a letter to Provost Glover thanking him for allowing the Academy members to participate in the interview process. Prof. Richards volunteered to write a first draft of the letter, including text stating the Academy' interest in playing a significant role in the annual evaluation of the Honors Program's progress towards meeting its stated goals. Prof. Crisalle will prepare the final letter, distribute it to the Academy members soliciting feedback, and finally will transmit it to Provost.

5 Discussion of Future Action Items

- 5.1 Prof. Richards suggested that we revisit our previous plan to identify opportunities for competing for funds available to support teaching and scholarship themes. He clarified that the intent is to identify opportunities and catalyze the formation of teams that can write a successful proposal, and that it was not necessary that the members of the Academy themselves act as principal or co-principal investigators.
- 5.2 Prof. Crisalle suggested that we turn our attention to the plan of identifying best practices regarding scholarship and teaching adopted in other universities, an initiative strongly endorsed by Prof. Levey in our last meeting.

Respectfully submitted by

Oscar D. Crisalle

Distinguished Teaching Scholar and Professor

Secretary Pro Tempore, Academy of Distinguished Teaching Scholars